Enjoy a cultural exchange with me and my mother in Inman, US

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 65-year old widow and caretaker for my 98 year old mother. I could use helping hands with yard work, housework and some companionship for my mother, as I am currently working full-time. Guests will have plenty of free time to enjoy the nearby mountains or perhaps even travel to the beach.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers are considered 'family'. Having traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean and having family living in England, Spain, Belgium, Australia as well as throughout the U.S., I look forward to sharing the experiences I have had and the traditions that we enjoy. Guests will be invited to join my family in any outings or shopping trips and will also meet and be able to visit with my closest friends. I work for a college so guests may also be able to attend various sporting events and art exhibits. That's in addition to local historical places such as Cowpens Battlefield (Battle of Cowpens in 1831) and Camp Croft which was used as a training facility during World War I and II.

  • Help

    Help

    Would welcome a couple that can help with yard work, some house cleaning, some preparation of meals, dog walking and some companionship for elderly mother. Yard work consists mostly of raking and cleaning up flower beds, maybe mowing grass if summertime. Elderly mother is mobile but needs assistance with meals and general companionship. (She loves to knit!).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation includes one bedroom with king size bed, additional sitting room, tv and shared bath. There is also a kitchen, dining room and living room available. During the summer there is an in-ground pool that may be enjoyed. Food will be provided but guests will usually need to prepare their own breakfast and lunch. Would love to have guests that could prepare 2 or 3 dinners a week. Host does have an inside cat and a dog that is inside/outside so guests must like animals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Home is located in the upstate region of South Carolina. Approximately 40 miles to Asheville, N.C., and approximately 70 miles to Charlotte, N.C. Close to the mountains of North Carolina and only about 4 hours to get to the coast of South Carolina. Nearest city is Spartanburg which is home to several colleges and universities. Also about 20 minutes to Greenville, S.C., which is located on the Reedy River. Visitors can enjoy the mountains of North Carolina as well as Tryon International Equestrian Center which is also nearby. Downtown Spartanburg is home to the Chapman Cultural Center and offers a variety of eateries.

    Spartanburg is located only about 20 minutes away from the Greenville/Spartanburg International Airport. Residence is in the county so public transportation is not readily available therefore it would be best if guests had their own transportation. Spartanburg offers easy access to both interstate I-26 and I-85 and it's an easy ride to the mountains of North Carolina. Atlanta, GA, is about 150 miles to the south or about 2.5 hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    One dog on premises that is not dog or cat friendly. Guests that have a pet would need to keep it contained when the home dog is not in the house. This applies only to those who have a camper or travel home. Would not be able to have additional pets in the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 223277962349