Ecological garden in Còrdoba, Argentina

Country

Argentina

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are Chloe (from California) and Jona (from Argentina) after traveling for 4 years volunteering using workaway, we arrived at this old farm that we have been caring for more than a year. The space is 7 hectares in size, there are spacious meadows, a couple of streams, ponds, and access to the river. There is an active garden where we work daily and various fruit trees, and many corners to explore within the terrain.

    We do not own the space, it could be said that we are permanent volunteers. We have a nice relationship with owners who live in Buenos Aires. That gives us freedom to coordinate the type and time of work to our liking.

    Hola! Somos Chloe (de California) y Jona (de Argentina) después de viajar 4 años voluntariando llegamos a está antigua finca que cuidamos hace más de un año. El espacio es de 7 hectarias, cuanta con zonas autoctonas, arroyos, manantiales y estanques. Hay huerta activa y diversos frutales. Muchos rincones para explorar dentro del terreno.

    No somos dueños del espacio, podría decirse que somos voluntarixs permanentes. Tenemos una linda relación con dueños que viven en Buenos Aires. Lo que nos da libertad para coordinar el tipo y tiempo de trabajo a nuestro gusto.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We learn by doing, exchanging permacultural knowledge, exchanging ideas for sustainable living. We were volunteers for a few years, and we want to give back the good experiences we had, welcoming people the best we can!

    Aprendemos haciendo, intercambiando conocimientos permaculturales, trocando ideas para habitar sustentablemente. Fuimos voluntarios algunos años, y queremos devolver las buenas experiencias que tuvimos, recibiendo personas lo mejor que podamos!

  • Help

    Help

    Kitchen: one person per day is in charge of cooking and cleaning communal spaces (kitchen, bathroom and study). We are rotating.

    Vegetable garden: harvesting, sowing, weeding, mulching, composting, fertilizing ...

    The living space: gathering firewood, sweeping, maintaining trails.

    Cocina: una persona por dia se encarga de cocinar y limpieza de espacios comunales ( cocina, baño y estudio). Nos vamos rotando.

    Huerta: cosechando, sembrando, deshiervando, acolchando, compostando, abonando...

    Lugar: recolectando leña, barriendo, manteniendo senderos, dándole cariño al espacio.

  • Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are several interesting places to camp with a fire place nearby. We have a tent, light and blankets in case you don't have them.
    Inside the house there is a communal sturgeon with a bed for a first night, or some night with bad weather. Hot shower!

    In exchange for 5 hours of work 5 days a week we can provide 3 meals a day, mostly vegetarian ingredients from the farm, grains like brown rice or sourdough bread. We also eat meat once or week or so, though we are open to receive volunteers with specific diets, just let us know ahead of time. On the weekends we expect volunteers to help us by buying some extra ingredients though we always grow vegetables and salad greens in the garden.

    Hay varios espacios interesantes para acampar con un lugar de fuego cerca. Contamos con carpa, luz y mantas por si no disponen.
    Hay dentro de la casa un mini estudio de música comunal con una cama para una primer noche, o alguna noche de clima adverso. Ducha caliente!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    About a 10 minute walk from the farm there are a few stores where volunteers can buy different products. To get to the town of La Paz is about 40 minutes walking. There, in La Paz, there are more social activities, an atm, and more options to buy food and artesanias. The center of La Paz is also where the bus arrives and departs, there are also taxis/remis. We don't have a car.

    A 10m caminando se llega al "centro" de Loma Bola donde se pueden adquirir la diversos alimentos, a 40m caminando está el centro de la paz, donde se encuentra más actividad comercial Y social. Es a donde llega el bus, para tenerlo en cuenta (hay remis).
    No tenemos auto.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 221244434746