updated   Last minute

Get to know our huskies "off season" in Swedish Lapland

  • Favourited 1778 times
  • Last activity: 24 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello beautiful beings!

    My name is Arya and I am a former school teacher specializing in clinical psychology and arts. I was living in Norway until this pandemic affected us enough to move forward, to Lannavaara, in Northern Sweden. Basically, my life is my dogs, handicrafts, and music.
    I have had polar dogs since I was a teenager, but I did not start doing it professionally until a few years ago.

    What to expect from me as a person?
    One of the first things that come to my mind, is DRAMA FREE. I have a positive approach toward every situation and I believe that good communication is the key. You live and you learn. To admit mistakes is a very fulfilling experience and I feel confident about that. What are we if not humans after all? I am in love with Mother Earth and also to learn about old native cultures, which are still more rooted than the new societies. I am in love with life, and I believe in people and the chance to UNLEARN. Regarding people, I love meeting new people, but also feel really comfortable being alone. I love meditating and I use a bit of my time every day for it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am really interested to bring workawayers in order to exchange something constructive from each other.
    I am highly interested in cultural exchange. I do not want you to sign up to get free food and accommodation ;) or to be here until you get a job opportunity in Lapland, but to be part of the project.

    I am the kind of person you can count on, a person of my word. I will always be honest about our abilities or limitations :) That is one of the reasons I love polar dogs, they are straightforward. You know what to expect from them. I am not here to sell myself, but to help, to be flexible, and to get things done.

    I am a solving problem-oriented person, who always tries to improve my skills and try new ones. I feel comfortable doing lots of different things. From the most spiritual deep conversations to handy jobs... I am not afraid to get my hands dirty or use strength. It also feels right to be part of handy projects and how to use different tools. We can maybe teach each other?

    Please feel comfortable asking or sharing your thoughts.
    I can't wait to see you soon!
    Arya

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We only work during the winter. Our season is now over. Therefore we are looking for VOLUNTEERS.

    We will prioritize the requests starting in July, as who was coming, has now other plans :)

    We are need help with our furry friends and you will be hand by hand with Dean and I.

    When the season is over, we try to be more flexible with our day, despite of the chore routines. We cannot forget that the dogs are our world and main characters of all this.

    There are daily chores and on a regular day, our furry friends get fed several times a day, we clean their pens and water them, brush them if they need or cover holes that they have been digging to give you as example. The day will be different depending on many other factors. Specially temperatures. Healthy and happy dogs aswell as training adults and puppies is our main goal and we are happy to show you our lifestyle and make you part of it.

    I would not say this is phisically heavy, but more of a mindset training...
    You need to have confidence, initiative, and self-motivation, want to be one step ahead, and are physically fit (it will make it easier, if so), you will be ready to handle these so “eager to go” beautiful creatures.

    You might love dogs, but that’s not enough. These are athletes, working dogs, and First things first. YOU NEED TO GET TO KNOW EACH INDIVIDUAL on every possible aspect that is going to affect their performance… This is not feed, water, clean poo, repeat. I need you to be interested in how a husky kennel is managed, so you can understand our daily life. At some point, you will know our dogs just by their sound or their gait if you are genuinely interested.

    If you are in the dog yard, you have to be present, you have to be one of the pack. You will not give up when challenges happen. You cannot underestimate dogs, they know their place, and they know yours. To be interested in our kennel culture and be part of it, to be good at identifying qualities of the dogs and take advantage of it. To give trust and get trust. I also expect you to keep the space clean and tidy and respect the way we all do things. Hygiene is basic to avoid sickness.

    We are open regarding your stay, and will try to handle the calender so it fits us all. We all understand you have a life ;) but this experience can be a longer-term commitment to experience how is life above the arctic circle in a racing kennel created from scratch with all the ups and downs that life brings you 😊 maybe this is meant to be part of your future life? You wouldn't be the first one!!!

    Our kennel is not located in a remote place in the forest, but we live in a small village. Lannavaara is home to 80 people and we have a local shop. We drive often to places like Kiruna, Norway, or Finland for different errands, or just for fun! We live in a tourist lodge but it is closed during the summer, so tourists do not arrive until December. There is a college, so you might meet some students, but we are still pretty remote. This means that you need to be at peace with yourself and be ready to spend time learning about sled dogs.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the accommodation, you will have your own room (shower and wc). Shared kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Kiruna, where you can take the train to Narvik (Norway), Finland is only 1 hour away and we can bring you to meet reindeer, Sami people (not everything as soon as possible or whenever you want, but when we have the chance).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 212359343171

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Looking for help in Ljungby, Sweden
Come and discover life on an old cultural farm up in the mountains in Särna, Sweden