Let's rethink and redesign the system we live in and build something better in Damak, Nepal

Country

Nepal

updated  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***Myself***
    I am born and raised in Nepal. I have been traveling to learn about sustainability and harmony for years now. In the process of learning, I went to India and Cambodia to learn yoga and meditation, and organic farming. Within Nepal, itself also, I went volunteering from farms to schools to transportation industries to factories to wood business to furniture and so on. I went working in US-based call centers and airline ticket agents and hotels.
    I am interested in Science (what we call Physics, Chemistry, and Biology, commonly) and Spirituality (what we call the knowledge of the unknown, maybe Dark Matter/Quantum Thing/Space. And Yes! Human Things!
    I am really looking for an alternative life/economy/government/education system.
    And let's share other things when we meet.

    ***Parents***
    My parents are from two ethnic groups (Mongolian and Brahman). They live separately in two different towns/cities now. Dad is into spirituality and is also into yoga and meditation. He makes herbs like tea, toothpaste, and some medicines. He doesn't talk too much.
    Mom is into business and she owned a wood and transportation business. She is into Talk, Love, Care.
    I visit both of them now and then.
    I have two younger brothers, one is studying Geology and the youngest is a marathon runner.
    You will meet them soon.

    ***Our Friends***
    We have friends to help with Infos and queries in Germany, China, France, Sweden, and America if you need Help to reach here.

    *** Now to The Project***
    The Project is settled on a piece of land in Damak. We wish to make this place our community home/platform/start ground. I started this project to put things I learned and people I met in the process together. This project is formed with its heart and core in alternative sustainable and free-living together in harmony with Nature, Technology, and Human.

    Our hope is to create a place with a sustainable economy; a place where we grow and store our own food, build our own houses (wood and clay research and workstation), practice yoga and meditation, promote art and crafts, make our own clothes and teach these to the orphan. Take what earth gives us. We wish to nurture a community that will not only help itself grow but its surrounding communities as well.

    We are just starting, like only the second step.
    The First Phase of the project started in 2016. Lots of traveling and sharing was happening to look for ideas and people.
    We are on second now, coming together with people who believe in the project.
    I got this land to use from family this June only, parents were using it. There was nothing but a rice field. So, together with friends and family, we are currently focusing on building some of our key necessities such as a kitchen, sleeping huts, water pumps, and toilet. We are also collecting various seeds of fruit trees, herbs, and flowers to plant and grow after the rice harvest in December.
    Meanwhile, we are spreading ideas on the internet and doing small group events in Damak itself to collect alike minded peoples and friends like architecture designers, civil engineers, social engineers and networking, lawyers, permaculture engineers, computer and electronic engineers, and volunteers.
    We want to keep designing the whole landscape until the rice harvest, which is December.
    We are also collecting building tools and materials from people themselves. In exchange, we are providing yoga and meditation classes right now.

    The Third Phase of The project starts in December 2020. We will open the platform to all the interested people around the world and start building and planting and teaching kids and many more. Keep Growing

    The project is prospering by the hands of those who want to help and it will always welcome anyone who wishes to contribute, no matter how small or big.
    Our goal is to reach out to people from all over the world; making the project a melting pot of cultures and perspectives.

    We also wish to inspire a place where creative minds can come together and share their skills such as music, painting, filmmaking, photography, philosophy, etc.

    ***Start of The Day***(optional)
    We start at 0500. We practice Yoga and Meditation with Kids in the Orphanage and finish at 0600-0700.

    ***Typical Food***
    We eat three times a day:
    0900 - Breakfast -a variation of Soup - Beans - Bread - Vegetables.
    1300 - Lunch - a variation of Nepali Dish - Dahl (lentils) - Vat (rice)- seasonal Tarkari (vegetables)- Aachar, etc
    1900 - Dinner - a variation of Nepali Dish - Roti (Flat Bread) - Dahl (lentils) - seasonal Tarkari (vegetables), Achar, etc
    And here and there, we can cook together and share our Different Cuisine.

    ***Typical Work Day***
    After Breakfast, we will share the day flow for a day and start at 1000. Easy Peasy Way.
    We take a Lunch break From 1300 to 1400.
    And Finish the day at 1600. Simple.

    ***Typical Off Days***
    Huuuuuu! You tell us where you want to go and what you want to do or just go get lost somewhere or sleep or do this or that or keep working or I don't know what.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    No one can teach you things until and unless you wish to learn. Everything you do here will teach you new things.

    Every moment you can learn and share skills and interests with:
    Meditation.
    Yoga.
    Organic food.
    Working, teaching, and learning with the orphanage.
    Some basic herbs making.
    Wood and clay crafts and building.
    Language and cultures.
    Permaculture.
    You can live with local families.
    Exchange languages and cultures.

    This project will be filled with minds and bodies, as time changes, things change here too.
    This Project is designed to implement and practice independency from present government, economic, education and corporate systems. The Art of sustainability.

  • Help

    Help

    We are in starting Phases of The Project which aims to rethink and redesign the whole education system, permaculture, social systems, construction methods, art, and crafts, and economic system.

    You can imagine what we are trying to do.

    Still, we are looking for designers like an architect, civil engineer, computer engineer, electronic engineer, social engineer, etc.
    We also are looking for preschool teachers and kindergarten teachers, yoga teachers, and thinkers.
    We are looking for passionate people who can do physical works in the permaculture field and construction.
    We are looking for someone with internet and social networking skills.
    Thinkers and Dreamers and Brainstormers.
    People with art and creative painting, singing, dancing, decorating skills.

    If you don't know your skill, this is the place you might find it. Living is already skill and you don't know that.

    Every skill is a necessary one at The Project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Nepali: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are various options.
    We are sleeping in the parents' old houses and The Project Property which is 1000 m away.
    You can use a tent in Project Property, private hut, or common room.
    If you want to learn more about local families, we will arrange a room for you in local houses from around.
    If you want a hotel, we can arrange it there too.
    You can sleep under the open sky too.
    We recommend you to carry travel mosquito net on your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have seen this place grow from childhood, and I have seen places around too. And I see the beauty in it. It took time to develop but now when it did, it did in a good manner, as I see.

    It can be fancy, romantic, and hot depending on the time in a day.

    There are places to hike from you can see the whole places around.
    There are few lakes around where you can boat.
    India border is close.
    Illam is close for winter feeling in summer.
    Transportation is easy.
    There are some waterfalls places around.
    Hot is Summer, Cold in Winter, Rainy in Rainy. What else.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In 24 hours day, we only ask for 5 hours, rest is yours and ours, We can share however it fits.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have land. Use it till you stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Let them have fun too, let them travel too.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day. 5 days a week.

Host ref number: 192256178231