Enjoy life on a very beautiful remote island of New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 151 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! We are a young family of 4. Waimarama 25 years old, Phillipp 30, Aio 3, Waiata 2. Wai is fluent in Te Reo Maori, Phill is German Cuban speaks German. We live on Great Barrier Island in New Zealand, we play in a reggae band together. We have a property with a orchard and a vegie gardens. We live in what is called The Flowerhouse, name given by the owners, as it is a property full of Flowers! It is unreachable by car, 600m from the carpark we walk or use a quad bike to transport heavy things. It is fully off the grid with solar and fresh spring water. We have a landline and WIFI. It has a bay with private access, 25min walk through the sub tropical bush where we like to go for walks. We both work and study spirituality, Photography and Digital Art from home, coffee making, logo and design , teaching kapahaka and guitar lessons. We try to live a balanced and healthy life, but do enjoy the occasional afternoon beer. We heat our own water and manage our own power which is limited. So we can only accept one workawayer.

    We offer a fully furnished beautiful room overlooking the ocean and native bush, unlimited WIFI, breakfast every morning, good vibes, and the possibility to learn Maori and German.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a bi-cultural family of mixed bloods, Maori German Scottish and Cuban. We love nutritionally balanced food, we bake our bread, and purify our own water, we do our own garden and harvest our own food. We live on a very beautiful remote island of New Zealand, the community are very lovely.

  • Help

    Help

    We would require our helpers to do cleaning jobs around the house, dishes, sweeping, tidying. Larger jobs for the guys such as wood chopping and smaller gardening jobs, weeding, compost, planting. We also would require babysitting once sometimes twice a week at night when we have band rehearsal. And the odd morning for 3 hrs while Waimarama studies. There will also be additional paid babysitting $18.50 pr hour when we need to go to Auckland for gigs and busking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English Maori German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large furnished room. Off the grid. Beautiful views and location.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We expect our guests to have honesty, trustworthy, reliability, modesty, and to clean up after themselves. There is much to offer in the area such as natural hot springs, mountain treks, surfing, bush walks, and also there is the Currach Irish Pub where there is a great setting of people and food also good music along with other amazing local eating places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 181213837739