Join our family and help us live as sustainably as possible in Povoa e meadas, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are family and friends living together on a small land in Portugal.
    Our aim is to live as sustainably as possible and enjoy the nature around us. We are a year or so in to our project so we are still starting up and have lots of dreams we want to make come true.
    We have animals(horses, goats, cats, dogs, chickens) and a big garden.
    The land is very rich with fruit trees and space.
    We are a mixed group of 3 adults and 2 children, working together and also enjoying our own space.
    We live a short walking distance from the nearby village so while we are surrounded by nature it's easy to also be close to the movemt of the village and get to know the locals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area we live in is very beautiful and has alot to offer for those that like to be outside. Sierra de Sao mamede is famous for its water and both close villages, castelo de Vide and Marvao have old castles that are great to explore.
    We live close to different menirs and walking trails.
    We are also very close to the lake where you can swim and fish.
    We have a great experience with the locals in the village and its easy to enjoy spending time in the quaint Aldea of povoa e meadas.
    Our home gives the opportunity to enjoy time with the animals and get closer to nature.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have lots to do on the land, from being with the animals, to mending/making fences, gardening, wood construction, tree pruning... All depends a bit on the time of year... At the moment we would love some help to make some simple Constructions and land maintenance and we always have gardening to do!
    We are open to find a rhythm that suits all and are very flexible with hours and days... More or less we would like 3-4 hours of work a day for 5 days and in exchange we offer accommodation and food.

    At this moment some one with experience with wood construction would be amazing as we have a few little projects to prepare the winter months.
    Obrigada!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be in our van. It is a high top with a double bed and cooker. So while we will usually share meals, it is also possible to have your own space and also cook seperately when desired.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a family and while we love to have company we also sometimes need to have our space, our land is perfect for that as all dwellings are a little distanced from each other.
    We are flexible with times and hours, so it's good to talk when you arrive and we can decide on what suits us all best.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have dogs and other animals so if you come also with animals its just important to us that they all get along!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 177168751165