Experience rural family life and assist with some DIY projects in Vermont, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/04/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: My eldest son is also home until March and I could use a hand feeding him as he has cerebral palsy and cannot do so himself.

    I live on what was once a hundred acre working farm with the younger two (of my three) teenage boys, three cats and five chickens - one is a sweet (but loud) rooster. It has been whittled down to about 3 acres, but is still surrounded by open farmland. Most of the house is over 200 years old, and a creative work in progress!

    A decade ago, the corncrib burned down, and we built a studio. The projects here include transforming the studio into a tiny house, and various interior house projects. Currently the studio is 95% insulated, has running cold water, a propane heat and cook stove, a refrigerator, electricity and tons of sunlight bathing the cathedral ceilings. Many folks have lived in it as is, but I am hoping to put the final touches on the place. I would love help in those moments where I need someone to hold the other end of the tape measure or keep something in place while I affix it to where it needs to go!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live 10 miles from historic Norwich VT; 12 miles from Dartmouth College, Tuck School, Hopkins Center for the Arts and the Geisel School of Medicine in Hanover, NH; and 15 from White River Junction (top 10 coolest small towns in the US!) which hosts Northern Stage, JAG and Briggs Opera House. Under 2 miles from my house is an organic teaching farm, Longwind Tomatoes organic greenhouses and Tai Chi classes, the Connecticut River, countless swimming holes, a boat launch, hiking trails, mountain biking trails, cross-country skiing trails and simply gorgeous vermont views. I can speak french, one of my kids can speak spanish, my house is handicap accessible.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    honesty, curiosity and a sense of humor please! after that, everything is easy

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I studied french for a decade or so....about 2 decades ago, and likey still converse! I can understand a bit of spanish, and my boys can speak some

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    living in the studio, with shower and bathroom in the house until hooked up out there. Also a guestroom in the house with all the amenities but less privacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    rideshare and a bus to downtown is under 2 miles away (although uphill) and I can always give someone a lift. Dartmouth Coach is a great way to get here - especially from NYC and Boston - and has a stop 15 minutes away from my home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    wifi in the house. decent phone signal on the land

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 1-2 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 164992918822