Organic strawberry and dairy farm by the mountains in Sør-Trøndelag, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 1321 times
  • Last activity: 5 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Due to the activity here on the farm now, I prefer to host one person at each time and for longer term stay. Thanks for your understanding!

    On the other hand, if you are interested in learn about organic agriculture and sustansable lifestyle and intend to work for long term, you are welcome :) An special invitation to you how is interested in make food and hopefully be part of a future cooperating project where we proccesse more of the products here on the farm. Special products we will sell directly to the consumers. as you see described later on this profile. If you stay for a longer period (at least 6 months, preferably much longer) and show you like learn, is it possible to get an agreement for paid job and/or refund of your travel expenses. If you haven't been here on the farm earlier, either as a volunteer, worker or friendship, is it a learning-/ trial period so you able to doing the work well (also independent/alone). The cattle and horse, is animals with many hundreds kilos of muscles and it's also tecnical equipment who we use in the daily production. I don't want you make any accident and may harm yourself, animals, or other things here on the farm.

    Later on I can open for more peoples, who will be here in same time.

    The farm is 190 ha (fields, forest, hill/mountain, water), about 40 km north of the city Trondheim. After few years break there are again milk production on the farm. This is a production who of course going on all year around. Nice when like animals, want spend time and learn more from maybe when calf get born, needful care and maybe milk the cows. Today a dairy company coming with truck and pick up the milk, but would be really exciting if possible to create organic products in future, who is not in any market yet and sell directly to the consumers :) This project is most suited for a female, - light farm work and housework, with opportunities to contribute to the expansion of this project.

    In the spring/summer, we will continue experimenting with organic strawberries. Here in Norway, organic strawberry production is not common yet, but it seems consumers like strawberries that are not contaminated with chemicals. In the past, I have tried some prepared food products (strawberry jam and juice), and wonder about other products. Both the local organic ice cream maker and previous consumers asking over and over again for such strawberries we produced here,- so this is a production we should take up again as soon we get time :)

    You should be interested in organic farming and sustainable lifestyle. As a volunteer, you will enjoy farm life, learn about traditional farming methods combined with new technology, plus free room/board and good friendship. You will also get a chance to experience harder farmwork such as haymaking, forestry (i.e. logging), renovations (i.e. construction, wall painting), and horse training, etc.

    The number of people I can host, depends on the season and the activity we plan to do.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's fine with 5 hours per day when you doing work with things you are skilled. But if you want learn about Norwegian organic farming and we share our knowledge, experiences and culture etc., you should take part in our daily routine.

    If you helping for a longer period, is it possible to agreement you get a paid job and/or refund of your travel expenses.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help


    Please be honest, reliable and responsible.

    Can only host NON-SMOKERS.

    I look forward to hearing from you! If you have any questions, feel free to ask :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    There is a separate room for volunteers living in the main house. You can also sleep on the couch or mattress in one of the other rooms. In some cases, I can set up a big tent outside during the summer. Everyone shares the bathroom and livingroom. In addition, we prepare food and eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In our free time I gladly join you with hiking in mountain. It's a varied landscape and many lakes/ rivers for fishing, swimming etc. You also gets chances to see the nearby area/ cities when I drive for some errands.

    On my farm can be people who coming as just a friend, as volunteer or paid worker. Please tell in your request what is your intention, and then I also know you have read my profile :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    After a more specific agreement.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Just ask and maybe it's possible

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 15847119574d

Feedback (4)



Help us with some construction projects and immerse yourself in a multicultural setting in Lundenes, Norway
Help us on our old family farm in between the mountains and fjords of western Norway, Kvanne