Help out at a small guest house in a permaculture setting in The Yunguilla Valley, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    163

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We host guests from all walks of life and all over the world. Our guesthouse is run as a sustainable complex and we incorporate many permaculture features. there is a small coffee plantation on our property that supplies us, our guests and outside customers with shade grown, organic coffee. Dan is a US citizen and Fran is originally from the German speaking part of Switzerland.

    The Yunguilla Valley (southwest Ecuador) has one of the most ideal climates in the world!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get a first hand impression on the life in the country side of southern Ecuador. You will have the possibility to speak/learn Spanish, English or German. Depending on the person and her/his desire of immersion there is a chance to see daily life, going to the local market, interact with locals.
    We have a local employee that works from Monday - Thursday. This is a great opportunity for someone to practice existing Spanish or take first steps in learning the language!

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers help with general property upkeep, coffee process - we have a small coffee plantation that needs care and help during harvest season, fruit picking (depending on the season), weeding, maintenance projects, cleaning and helping with guests.
    This is a unique opportunity for someone to learn about sustainability, permaculture and a life in and with nature. Dan has acquired an extensive knowledge in regards to living a life that honors our surroundings and you can greatly profit from that by asking questions!
    We open our house to people that are willing to work, curious to learn new things and know their purpose in life. Open communication, honesty and respect are expected at all times.
    Please only apply for your stay if you fit the requirements and feel attracted to our unique place. You should be able to accept some rules for the benefit of all.
    Your workday starts at 8am and ends at 1pm. This might be changed to afternoons depending on the season.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, German and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a private room with the use of a public toilet and shower. If someone prefers to bring their tent, there is a lot of possibilities to set it up on the property. The room has a queen size bed. We provide breakfast, lunch (main meal) and dinner - you are on your own during weekends. We appreciate workawayers to chip in with the clean up.
    If someone likes to cook we are happy to try whatever anybody prepares.
    There is fresh fruit for in between meals. If you require more you have to provide for it yourself.
    You have access to our eating area (inside and outside), the living room and the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area offers incredible nature and microclimates. Sugar cane processing, Zip lines and horse back riding (close proximity) and hiking. This is NOT a place for someone looking for action and parties! But if you are interested in experiencing first hand country living and like to eat healthy food - we are the place! There is public buses every 20 minutes that get you to Cuenca (1 1/2 hours). The Peruvian border can be reached by bus within 3 hours. Local taxis take you anywhere in the valley you want to go!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 114575684631