Milton

aus: Italien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Italien, Niederlande, Polen, Schweden, Spanien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    15.02.2019 - 31.12.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Top Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    zu Hause

  • Beschreibung

    Hi! Thanks for reading my profile! I'm Milton, originally from Ecuador but raised in Northern Italy. I'm a handy person passionate about languages, music and sustainable living. Brief bio. In 2016, after quitting my job in a customer service position, I began traveling extensively wanting to discover new countries and cultures, but mostly to challenge and get to know myself more. I first moved to London where I lived for a year, working in the service industry. This experience taught a lot about high level customer service but also how to live/survive in a hostel:) With time I understood that the busy London life wasn't for me though. That's when I started using Workaway, traveling first to Costa Rica and then around Europe for about 9 months: it was a life changing experience! I had the chance to meet amazing people and to be involved in some unique and meaningful projects. I learned new life and professional skills that I later used to applied for a new job and I discovered my passion for woodworking and manual jobs in general. Inspired by my travelings I moved back to Italy, to Florence this time, where I have been living for about three years except for 5 months of volunteering with Workaway and Woof in 2018. My latest job positions included working as an Italian cooking instructor for a private school, and as a receptionist and general maintenance worker for an American art college.

    Recently, in July 2020, I completed a TEFL course and received my ESL teacher certificate. I'm so happy and excited to start this new career. At the moment I'm interested in opportunities involving the teaching of English as a second language, but I'm also open to other opportunities where I can develop my interpersonal, organizational and leadership skills.
    As I said, I have experience in general maintenance tasks and woodworking, and I would be very happy to help with that as well: I really enjoy repairing things and making new ones with my own hands, specially with recycled materials.

    I have a strong work ethic and I embrace the Workaway community's values: you can be sure that I will do my best to contribute to your project whether I stay with you for a few days or a few months.
    In November 2019 I was awarded Workawayer of the month. Please read my interview to know more about me. https://www.workaway.info/en/stories/lifechanging-career-skills-traveller-learn-through-workaway

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Kunstprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    English teaching
    As a certified ESL teacher I would love to be involved in language teaching projects and further my skills by practicing with students of different ages and levels.
    I also speak Italian and Spanish fluently, and I can help you with practicing them.

    Handyman
    I have experience as a handyman, and with carpentry and wood renovation. I'm familiar with manual and power tools, such as the power drill, circular saw, jigsaw, cross-cut saw. I can help you to renovate and paint walls and I'm also familiar with the preparation and use of concrete. I'm able to do non-extensive plumbing and electrical jobs as well.

    Video editing/making
    I'm passionate about video making and shooting interviews, I'm still learning though. I like to collect video stories of people during my trips and edit them myself. I have a basic knowledge of Adobe Premier and Illustrator. I would like to keep improving these skills and help you with video editing/making projects. Feel free to watch this video I posted https://youtu.be/hzrgBWUFZtM

    Cooking class
    I was an Italian cooking instructor for a few months, teaching people how to make traditional Italian pasta. The tools you need are very basic but It's a very fun experience and I would love to teach you or help you to organize a pasta making course.

    Hospitality/receptionist
    I have an extensive experience, over 10 years, in the service industry working as a waiter and barista, and lately as a receptionist as well. I am happy to take care of your guests doing check-ins/outs, giving information or providing them with a great dining experience.

  • Languages

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    Italian: Fließend

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Füge hier einen kurzen Kommentar hinzu, um andere mehr über deine Sprachinteressen wissen zu lassen

  • Alter

    33

  • Nationalität

    Ecuador / Italy

  • Was noch ...

    I love playing music!! I have been playing the guitar since I was 14 years old. If you have a piano, a guitar or an ukulele it's a plus! I'm happy to play and sing in public and bring people together.
    I would love to get involved in artistic or craft projects: I have good manual skills and I also like to sketch from time to time. I love to be surrounded by creative people in general. At the moment I'm learning watercolor painting too.
    In 2018 I produced and hosted a bilingual ( English and Italian) web radio program of 4 episodes, about the international community of Florence. Here is one episode
    https://www.facebook.com/quasiradio.it/videos/1223661854436881/
    Along the years I have become more and more aware of my environmental impact which I try to minimize by reducing the use of disposable materials, by repairing broken items and by buying second hand products when possible.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Fotos

Delicious broccoli microgreens
Pine wood chess set I made
Wood frame workshop in an art academy in Florence
Reclaimed wood table
Pizza night with our lovely host in France
Having some petting time at an animal rescue center in Tuscany
Feeding an injured parrot at the animal rescue center in Costa Rica
Free hugs in Santiago de Compostela
Picking coconuts in Panama

Feedback