Jon

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Argentinien, Australien, Brasilien, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Fidschi, Guatemala, Jamaika, Kanada, Kuba, Martinique, Mexiko, Neuseeland, Panama, Paraguay, Turks and Caicos Islands, USA, Uruguay, Vietnam

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    19.02.2018 - 31.03.2018

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    My name is Jon and I have been living a quasi-nomadic seasonal existence for the last 7 years or so. It started with studying international relations and agriculture, trade and development and my first workaway on a vineyard in Italy. Returning home to a "real job" (humbug!), I quickly realized that I preferred the sun on my shoulders during the day rather than forced air, bad lighting and suit jackets. So I submitted some resumes and fell into wine making and seasonal work as a: chef/ski instructor/carpenter/jack of many trades. Now, as I start to get a bit older, I still love learning and growing while trying to live a dream of adventure, discovery, food and wine, building and skiing. The next iteration has been toward the built environment and the intersection of real estate and food/agriculture and teaching/experiential education - we'll see what the future holds!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Construction/Building:
    I am SUPER interested in historical preservation and restoration, sustainable design/build and passive systems and bring a good diversity of experience in a number of related areas. I would love to be able to work on projects with people who have experience in these fields and help bring a concept into fruition while developing a worldwide portfolio of work - kind of an alt-architectural masters program or something! With some SketchUp/CAD drafting experience I've been working to educate myself in:
    -passive solar design, plumbing (water supply -copper/PEX, waste drainage/venting) - [I'm interested in closed-loop plumbing design for water efficiency and ease of maintenance, graywater systems, etc], framing, concrete, roofing, some timber framing, furniture design/build, deconstruction/creative reuse of materials, reclaimed/re-purposed construction, furniture, some experience with MIG welding, metalwork (non-structural).
    Food/Wine/Agriculture:
    Work in this area includes - viticulture, commercial vegetable cultivation (biodynamic commercial farm), general gardening, seed propagation, vineyard management , composting systems, small scale/vertical gardening, landscaping.
    I've worked as a chef in a number of restaurants, as a baker, winemaker, bartender, studying for sommelier certificate - so I can do/teach/advise on all those things - I'm also dabbling with brewing, (and various fermentations), distillation, sugaring, butchery, cheese, charcuterie. I LOVE everything about FOOD! - making, eating, sharing, learning all about this is immensely important to me.
    Education/Childcare/Etc.:
    CPR for professional rescuer, lifeguard, wilderness first responder, teaching children/coaching in sports, some yoga instruction, rock climbing instruction, ski instruction
    Maintenance:
    forklift experience, machine maintenance and repair, tractors
    And a bunch of other random experience - economic consulting firm, business, marketing, web design, strategy...if I can't do it yet, I can probably learn it!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Spanish

  • Alter

    34

  • Nationalität

    Estadounidense, USA

  • Was noch ...

    I am generally handy, have ample experience trading labor and learning all sorts of trades - my experience has been extremely varied and far-reaching, so if I don't know how to do something I will say so, but I am always happy to learn new things and a very quick study. I'd love the opportunity to meet and work with you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Profil ist verbunden mit:

boviie20


Fotos

Cooking thanksgiving for hosts in Italy

Feedback