Declan

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    08.09.2019 - 01.09.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi!

    I'm Declan. I love reading, writing, and walking. I also practise yoga and meditation and love to travel. I've been volunteering through Workaway since 2019 and have enjoyed every minute of it!

    In 2015 I graduated from Newcastle University's Creative Writing MA, and since then I've volunteered as a storytelling mentor for school children to help develop their confidence in writing, and I've also delivered memoir writing workshops for elderly members of my local community. I used to volunteer as a woodland conservationist (although I'm by no means an expert; it was just basic stuff really, mostly chopping wood, clearing paths, and carting wheelbarrows around!). I've also undertaken a voluntary internship with an environmentally-conscious publishing house based in Vermont, USA, as a proofreader/editor. Currently I volunteer as a telephone befriender once a week, which involves talking on the phone to isolated members of the community in the region of England where I'm from.

    During my university studies I also worked part-time in several different retail environments, which helped me develop some good customer service and communication skills.

    Through Workaway I'm hoping to broaden my skillset and get involved with all sorts of projects. I'm easy-going and I'll try my hand at anything really, as long as I can help out! I just want to engage in some meaningful work so I can feel that I'm making a bit of a positive impact, even if it's only small, and I'd love to make some new friends along the way!

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Kunstprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Basic gardening/woodland maintenance skills; tutoring and mentoring (I have a TEFL qualification, so teaching English is no problem); I think I'm a pretty good cook (although I've never catered for large groups, but it's something I'd love to try); general domestic tasks; cleaning; creative writing; copywriting and digital content creation; customer service.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

  • Alter

    29

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Was noch ...

    I work as a freelance writing work whilst volunteering to help fund myself. It's not a huge commitment, usually just a few hours every couple of weeks, and it won't affect my capacity to carry out any voluntary duties at all, but it does mean that I'll have to spend some of my free time hunched over a laptop being a bit anti-social. I hope that's alright!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian

Fotos

Feedback