A new beginning... organic herb farm near Villaviciosa, spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 95 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    98.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My project is a permaculture/organic herb farm, where I will grow herbs for herbal infusions, cooking herbs, etc. Also lots of veg (in 2020) and fruit.

    I have started in 2019, so it is mostly starting fields, planting and tending to green manures. I plan to build my drying machine and a green house this year. In fall I hope to plant my berries and trim my fruit trees. There is also plenty of grass land to maintain. And hopefully I will add some chickens and a chicken coop and a cat in the near future.

    I am also in the process of designing new house plans and doing some demolition work and maintenance. This will include a rain water system. As the house hasn't been lived in and needs a lot of love and work I am not living in the house, I just use the kitchen and bathroom.

    I sleep in the panera (a barn on feet, like an horreo) where I have made several little tent rooms, which are private and clean, with new beds.

    There is so much! My head is full of excitement and plans. But what I have learned, the last few years, doing volunteer work in France and Spain, is that you just have to start somewhere, have fun and don't worry about deadlines. It is very meditative work, mostly because there is no end in sight, so there is no point getting stressed. (of which you can remind me when I get stressed :).)

    I would love your help with all of this. Experience isn't required, because I will be glad of the extra hands, but if you happen to have experience with: carpentry, forestry, gardening, construction, plumbing, electrics, etc. your insights will be appreciated.

    I am a Dutch woman, I used to be a cook, business consultant and manager. Now I want to have a simpler and happier life in Asturias. I have a wonderfully funny and friendly dog. If you want to bring a dog, he or she is welcome, provided the dogs get on well.

    Well, I hope that gives you an idea! Please contact me with any questions and I hope to see you soon and share my dream with you!

    I have Wifi, but limited and quality depends on the weather.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    First of all you get to experience Asturias and (if I do say so myself) one of the most beautiful parts of Asturias at that! Second, life in a rural Asturias village.

    Furthermore you can learn about and contribute to gardening, landscape and house design, improving soil, permaculture, fruit trees, forestry, construction work, etc.

    And last but not least we can help each other with languages and learning about different cultures and habits.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We will either be working in the garden or in the house
    Garden: weeding, planting, sowing, digging, mowing, watering, constructing, etc.
    House: demolition, plumbing, wood work, making doors, etc.

    The work will be 4 hours a day for 5 days a week. Whoever wants to work more, I won’t stop you, but a balance between work and free time is very important to me.

    The exact days of the week and the starting times will depend on the work and the weather. I'd prefer it if you stay for at least a week and a maximum of 2 or 3 weeks. (for people who wish to stay longer, we can talk about it once you get here, but I won't commit to longer without knowing you and you knowing me :))

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    dutch, english, reasonable spanish, some german and french

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation
    The house is liveable (depending on your definition), but I have decided the living quality will be better with tent rooms inside a seperate structure. You will have a tent room 2mx1,70mx1,75m (high). With a mattrass on a a pallet-structure.
    Cooking will be done outside or in the kitchen in the house, and the toilet and hot shower are also available. I have a washing machine.

    Food!
    We'll be eating lots of veggies, but also meat and fish and dairy. Organic as much as possible, but that is mostly a budgetary question for now. Once my garden starts producing nearly everything will be organic! . Please let me know if you have dietary needs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Time off is yours to do with as you please. You can sleep, lay in the sun, read, go for walks or join me and my dog on our walks. You don't mind silence or spending time by yourself. I hope to get a bike in the near future so you can have some transport for yourself, though beware! The area has steep roads. The views are worth it though!

    If you have a car, that is great, as it gives you more freedom (to go to the coast, visit the picos, Oviedo or Gijon), but if you are travelling by public transport I can pick you up in Villaviciosa. I'll go into town at least once a week and you can join to do some shopping if you want. And I like going to the beach as well and you are welcome to join me there. For a walk, a swim or a snorkel.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 days, 4 hours a day

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 989333132344