Cultural experience staying on our land-based yacht on the small island of Leros, Greece

Country

Griechenland

Bisher 72 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    May September and October only
    We both embrace sustainable living as lifelong sailors and designed our own home and built it here on Leros. We come from varied backgrounds having learned different ways of surviving and life on the land and on the sea; we have lived in various cultures and traveled extensively. We lead a "outdoor" simple uncomplicated life still very active although not young anymore!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a small Greek island, still unaffected by tourism although we do have tourism. Great place for experiencing small island culture with ties to its past; a slower pace simpler way of life which we love; many fishermen and farmers still on the island, at least 50% of the island does one or the other; 100s of goats still being raised here.
    We have traveled extensively for life and enjoyment, and have lived in a number of other cultures. My husband is English, I am of American origin having spent a good part of my life in Italy. We are people who keep to ourselves, not overly "sociable" but we will be at the house of course when you are and expect to have exchange with you; we see this stay as an opportunity for you to experience small Greek island life and explore and discover for yourselves; you will have plenty of free time to do so, basically, a week of work in exchange for a week of free time. You will be working in a beautiful environment and the island people are friendly and easy going. We are friendly and easygoing.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We require a couple who speaks english fairly well, is used to working together and can work on their own.
    We have a sustainable home, which is pretty big, lots and lots of windows that require cleaning; a large landscaped area surrounding our home which needs clean up, raking leaves and leveling gravel messed up by the chickens (!) and pruning; trees with long pruners, carting away debris, - these are the main jobs and window cleaning will require work on a ladder to the second story windows.
    The work is physical, and it is still pretty hot here ( but better than Greek summer heat), even in May or September.
    Help with weeding, cleaning up the landscaping, a lot of raking. The work requires a couple, we need 2 people working together. Your accommodations at the marina are about a 25 min bike ride from our home or one hour's walk; biking is good but the last part is steep. Some people rent a motorbike.
    Be prepared for physical work, if you have not done this before, think twice!
    Thanks!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Greek: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    An historic 50' wooden boat which we lived on for over 10 years; it is in dry dock in the dockyard, an interesting environment. This is like a small apartment with a galley kitchen, sitting area and bedroom. Shower and toilet facilities are 1-2 min. walk away. No fridge unless you choose to hook it up and pay the electric bill (we are used to not having one) The running water is rigged up, not coming through the faucet. Town is a 10 min walk or 5 min. bike ride.

    We do not provide food but you have all the facilities to do your own cooking. Your exchange allows you half of the time that you stay completely free to do as you like, this is what we offer; your work time in exchange for "holiday time" to explore and discover and relax. We ask that two people do a week's work more or less, not necessairly 8 hours a day, it is flexible; you can stay a bit longer if you like, over the one week no work stay for one week of work. Mornings are best.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The island has more WWII history rather than ancient; it is living history, the people are very tied to their roots and great to live among. These are strong resilient people that you can learn a lot about life from, we prize our existence here, the modern world has not ruined this place. There is bus which circles the island probably 5 times a day and you are close to all services in the town of Lakki.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    You can park where we have our "boat home" in the marina.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week-flexible


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 986828142157