Hilf uns mit Haus- und Gartenprojekten in Hertfordshire, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 160 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.07.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    114

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    The next time we will need help in our house and garden will be in

    September 2022, for ONE WEEK only.

    The primary chores are in the garden. Often that means a lot of weeding!

    We expect our guests to be vaccinated against COVID. If that's not the case, please do a test before your arrival.

    We are looking for a single Workawayer or a couple.

    You should be 21 years or older, with experience of gardening, and be someone who can work independently. Please tell us in your message _why_ you would like to stay with us, and what your experiences are of working in a garden.

    We ask that you can speak English to at least B2 level, as we are usually at work during the week so are not easily able to check that you have understood what we have asked.

    If the weather is bad, we might ask you to tackle some jobs like cooking or cleaning instead, or maybe some easy DIY.

    Please note that we partly select our Workawayers on the basis of whether we think we will all get on together and how we might be able to learn something about each other’s lives and cultures. We would therefore like to know something about you and your interests when you send your request, so that we can get an idea of the kind of person you are. You might also want to tell us why you would like to stay with us.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Who we are:
    We are a German-English professional couple (age 49 and 50), and have a large garden (ca. 50m x 15m), where we grow vegetables, fruit and flowers - it's not really a smallholding, but there are lots of things to do in the garden. We are interested in the environment, and try to be as green as we can be (although not really as much as we should).

    Interests & "lifestyle":
    Our other interests include the arts and left-wing / green politics, and we are generally interested in other cultures and how people around the world live. Because we grow a lot of our own fruit and vegetables, we like to find ways of using our produce, such as making jam (as well as just eating it for dinner, of course), and we make our own sourdough bread.

    Some people might call us boring (we are definitely not 'party animals'), we like to think of ourselves as quietly content :-) We are both active in our local Transition Town group, while Claire is also interested in meditation, does a bit of yoga, and knits.

    Diet:
    We are a vegetarian / semi-vegan household (i.e. no meat/poultry/fish and we try to limit dairy products and eggs), and we would expect you to be vegetarian while you are staying / eating with us.

    What hours are we looking for:
    We ask you to volunteer about 3-4 hours a day, for 5 days out of 7. We will teach you the basics of what you need to know if you don’t know it already. (E.g. what is a weed and what isn’t!)
    We work full-time, but would be happy to join in helping with you at weekends, and maybe could take some time off work on other days occasionally. But generally during the week you might be doing your own thing a lot of the time.

    Who we are looking for?
    We would prefer to have a single Workawayer or a couple (age 21 or older), and who can be fairly independent when volunteering. (We have one spare room, with a double bed, so this might not be suitable for friends travelling together.) We are also more interested in meeting people from other countries, rather than our own - but we will consider British people if you seem a good fit with us :-) Please look at the list of jobs we need doing before contacting us!

    We would only like to host non-smokers. Please note that we cannot host any children.

    You will need to be quite self-reliant and happy to be on your own, both in your volunteering time, and in your time off. We will spend time with you when we can, and would like to get to know you a little, so we like to share evening meals with our guests and maybe play some board games. Sometimes we will have our own things to do too, even at weekends and in the evenings, so you also need to be able to 'amuse yourself'. (Especially as we don't have a TV!) We are not the people for you if you want to be entertained 24/7 :-)

    Getting to know each other:
    Before we commit ourselves to hosting you, we would very much like to have a Zoom call with you, so that we can all see whether we would get along. We hope that you will see the benefits of this for you too. :-)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As bi-national and bi-lingual hosts, and having lived in three different countries we can offer you our insights into British and German societies (and the limited experience of living in Ireland for 10 months). We both have a strong interest in politics and the environment, and we are keen to exchange our thoughts with people staying with us. We make our own sourdough bread and try to "live green", and can share our thoughts on ecology, protecting the environment, and how to live with the compromises we all need to make.

    We can also teach you English and German, as well as how to cook vegetarian meals, and about music history, theory or finding information, or coping with information overload.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Current projects we want help with include:

    In the garden:
    - clearing and digging vegetable and flower beds
    - ongoing light gardening like weeding and lawn mowing.

    In the summer and autumn we need help with harvesting and watering too.

    If the weather is too bad to garden, then we would ask you to do some jobs in the house:
    - light cleaning jobs (e.g. hoovering or window cleaning)
    - if we are harvesting a lot of fruit when you're staying, we might teach you how to make jam :-)

    Normally we would only consider having 1 person or a couple staying with us at any time; due to the fact that our garden is not THAT big, we will not be able to host you for longer than one week - we need to wait for the weeds to grow back!

    We enjoy meeting people who are open-minded and inquisitive about the world, and who don't have fixed and conventional views.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    1 guest room with double bed (sharing the bathroom with us).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our town is on the train line between Cambridge and London, both about half an hour's train journey away. So we are in a good location for visiting tourist sights! The town where we live is small but is near some nice countryside, so it is possible to do various walks. There is also an outdoor swimming pool (only open in summer) nearby if you are keen on swimming. Because it is a small town, there is not really any 'night life'; but there is a small cinema and occasionally some gigs or other events in the evenings. Be warned: we do not have a TV! But we do like to play board games, if our guests are willing.

    Working with us will not be too exhausting, and might be a good start for someone new to Workaway. We are happy to provide food for you when you are at our place, or we are happy to let you cook for everyone if you would like to (as long as it's vegetarian!).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Claire works from home so we have decent enough WiFi, although it is not ‘super-fast’. We would ask that you don’t do large amounts of streaming or uploading as that slows the connection down sometimes.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a large enough drive for a campervan.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3-4 hours a day with two days off /week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)
























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 984293111639