Homesteading the Permaculture way in Western Cape, South Africa

Country

Südafrika

Bisher 44 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of six homesteading off grid in a permaculture way. Our electricity is supplied by a solar system, water is from a borehole. Our journey to self sustainability began eight years ago, but last year things changed to a whole new level, when we sold our old property and we bought a blank canvas of 112ha to design our permaculture farm from scratch.

    We follow permaculture principles in our farming practices. We have completed a PDC with Geoff Lawton. Our food garden, established only 12 months ago is already supplying our daily veggies. On farm activities include chores like feeding animals, gardening and clearing the invasive species. Hopefully we'll get a cow for milk, butter, cheese and yogurt in the next month or two.

    Our orchard is still young, with trees planted only in September 2018. Clearing the invasive species allows us to get our hand on a lot of biomass. The wood chips from these trees are used as mulch in the orchard and also to make biochar. The orchard is being transformed into our take of a Syntropic Farm.

    We are currently staying in an old labourer's cottage on the farm and we are hoping to start building our natural earth house in the next few months. It is with the eye on our building project that we need help. We need people who could teach us skills taht we will need to complete the house. We also would like to meet people who are willing to share their knowledge and expertise on other subjects as well. Our guests stay in a spacious safari tent. We love to take long walks on the farm and enjoy the scenary, plant- and animal life thats on offer.

    Our children (8, 6, 4 and baby) are homeschooling and we are a close knit family doing and learning together.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will experience the day to day life on a self sustainable off grid farm. OUr farm is situated in one of the most unique climate zones in South Africa. With plants and vegetation looking different than farms only 4 km aways.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We want to work with people who care about the earth and care about people.
    We are looking for people who are self motivated and have experience and/or knowledge of Permaculture and/or Syntropic farming.
    Your primary task will be teaching us. We are looking for people with experience and expertise to teach us basic skills that will come in handy in future.

    We want to know more about things like (but not limited to):
    Curing meat, especially charcuterie.
    Learn new languages: Latin, German, French.
    Building methods and skills.
    Welding and woodworking.
    Singing and Music lessons for us and the kids: we have a piano, guitars, yuculales.
    Rock and surf fishing.
    Or let us know what you are skilled in or what you think is neccesary to survive on a homestead.
    Arts and Craft.

    As mentioned: Our children are homeschooled and teaching activities will involve the whole family. We want to use this opportunity to give them a broader perspective on life. We want to expose them to other cultures, traditions and people.

    If, in the rare instance that we were to take a day or two off, we would want to leave the farm in good hands.

    Because we are on a farm and not visiting town that often, it would be prefered if you have your own transport for if you want to take a drive during your off hours. If you are contend to be on your own, you are welcome to just enjoy the quiet, but if not, bring a friend/spouse along.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Afrikaans: Fließend
    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our guests stay in a spacious comfortable safari tent. Fire is heated with wood fire. The toilet is a dry composting toilet. Eating arrangements will be made at arrival. Usually you will eat at least one meal per day with us. Food is from what's in season in the garden. Sometimes home grown pork or rabbit meat will be on the table. From time to time we buy in beef or lamb from neighbors. For other meals we can supply meat and/or you can harvest from the garden to cook for yourself.
    If you like coffee: Coffee is handcrafted, fire roasted coffee roasted here on the farm.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located about 2.5km from the N2 Garden Route, 8 km from Albertinia in the direction of Mossel Bay, about 350 km from Cape Town and 80 km from George.

    We are tucked away, yet central to most places around us. There are three major beaches about 40 km away - Mosselbay and Hartenbos to the east. Gouritzmond is a great fishing and scuba diving area Stillbaai has beautifull beach for swimming to the east.

    Almost across the street from us. you could visit the Garden Route Game Lodge, a game drive can get a close look at wild life and reptiles of South Africa.

    Albertinia is well know for its Aloe industry. Health products are made from aloes that grow in the area and a visit to these factories are always informative..

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 979314594735