Our log home needs some loving care near village of Wakefield, Quebec, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 23 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.10.2019

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Renny and I live on an old farm with about 230 acres of bush and a few fields. We have recently moved here and don't farm but we do have a vegetable garden and are busy with other projects like trail making, wood cutting, and fixing up our old log house have e . We live in an area about one hour north of Ottawa and about 15 kms from the charming village of Wakefield. We live in an old log house with a lot of repairs needed. Our goal is to make the place more welcoming so that others can come and enjoy the outdoor experience.

    Our guests would stay in a private simple cabin that we built a few years ago with no running water or electricity. It has an outdoor fire pit, and is fully equipped with bedding and kitchen They would use the outhouse we built, or come to the house for showers and washroom . It is about ten minutes walk from our house in the woods and about 200 meters from a small wild lake where you can swim and use a canoe. It is truly an outdoor wonderland and is the best way to experience nature and it is a good opportunity to meet wildlife.

    We have friendly neighbours and enjoy socializing . I work in Ottawa three days a week and Renny is self employed.. We have two black labs and two cats. We speak English at home and are fairly comfortable in French.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like to have help with indoor and outdoor projects. Indoor painting, chinking in between the logs of our house ( inside and out,) trail cutting, raft building and gardening etc. Some of the work may require good physical fitness and a comfort in being in the outdoors. It may be buggy and hot. As we do work outside the home, there would be times when volunteers would be left to finish tasks etc independently, but other times we would work alongside with them.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private simple wood cabin with a sleeping loft for two and some basic cooking facilities but no electricity or running water. Washing water will come from a rain barrel outside the cabin and drinking water from our house about ten minutes walk away. Outhouse close to cabin and access to shower and flush toilets at our house. We would likely eat most meals together but there would be a chance for volunteers to have some independence at times if they would prefer.We eat mainly, but not completely, vegetarian meals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Village of Wakefield is about 15 kms away on a dirt road and we have bikes to loan. It is a small and pretty village with lots going on as it is a creative and artistic community. There is a bus service about ten kms away that goes into Ottawa. There is also a possibility of ride shares etc and the neighbours also offer rides on occasion.

    This is the first time we have used volunteers but as there is a lot of labour intensive work to do this seems like a good idea.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 973479944766