Verschiedenartige Mithilfe beim Deutschlernen, Handwerks- oder Hausarbeiten gesucht in Arizona, USA



aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 464 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    Currently, I am looking for two or three healthy young men to help me move from Phoenix to Bullhead City, about 200 miles away. I prefer a commitment for one month, although I will gladly consider shorter stays.

    That's basically loading up my minivan with stuff, coming with me to Bullhead City, unloading it and then heading back for more -- a one-way trip each day for as many trips as it takes. This way the moving company would only deal with the heavy furniture.

    Bullhead City is a water-recreation destination on the Colorado River. Laughlin, Nevada, is across the river; California is 23 miles downstream.

    Also, once my Phoenix home is empty there are some projects I want to try to prep it for sale -- mainly kitchen renovations and maybe some minor painting.

    ABOUT ME: I'm a managing attorney for a major consumer-based technology/finance company. I have always worked from home (even pre-COVID) and have a relatively flexible schedule that enables me to have ample time to spend with my guests.

    Before relocating to Arizona I lived in Manhattan and worked as an attorney for one of Europe's largest investment banks. I also taught economics, finance and business ethics at a local college.

    I have a B.S. in Business & Economics, an M.A. in Economics, and a J.D., which I earned at age 36.

    For now, I live alone with my dog in a townhome development in Glendale, Arizona -- literally across the street from Phoenix.

    I have been an active host using similar websites for many years and have over one hundred fifty references on those sites. I always enjoy having interesting people from around the world staying with me.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Besides structured assistance with your English if you like, I can offer the following:

    --Guests who stay at least one week get a day-trip to the Grand Canyon (yes it’s open), via the Oak Creek Canyon Scenic Byway, which passes through Sedona. (I do ask that you chip in for fuel and perhaps share in the driving home if you have a license.) Guests who stay at least two weeks get a second day-trip to Saguaro National Park and Mount Lemmon via the Catalina Scenic Byway. Other overnight destinations are possible with the campervan.

    --(CLOSED – COVID) One of my favorite activities as a host is taking foreign guests to see their first live professional baseball game.

    --An in-depth introduction to U.S. law, courts, legislative processes and jurisprudence for those interested in comparative legal systems. My particular areas of interest are constitutional issues, individual rights, and tort law.

    --Again, I taught college-level economics and finance, and was an investment banker for many years. I would be happy to share my knowledge and expertise in these fields (e.g., how U.S. financial markets work, how securities are valued, and how macroeconomic policies are implemented).

    --I'm a recreational (i.e., not very good) oboist. I play in a local community college concert band.

    --I follow European soccer, especially Bundesliga. My team is Borussia Dortmund.

  • Arbeit


    German Speakers: Normally, my particular interest is in hosting native or fluent German speakers who would like to help me improve my German (both formal Hochdeutsch and conversational / idiomatic). I had six semesters of college-level German in college. I usually test as B1, maybe B2. I try to practice every day and have a fairly good grasp of basic grammar. Where I need help is in vocabulary and certain advanced grammar topics. I ask for one-hour sessions daily, either to engage in conversational immersion, to work through educational materials, or to utilize realia such as German-language news sites or television programs.

    Piano or Guitar Players: I play the oboe and have several pieces that contain accompaniment parts (I have an electronic keyboard). Let’s jam!

    Everyone: Another option would be to take on some digital projects such as cleaning up my digital travel photos and creating videos from them (I can provide samples of what I mean). If you have artistic skills (painting, sketching, etc.) and would like to make some art for my home, then I would cover the cost of supplies.

    Finally, walking my dog is always a valuable service you can provide.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Large spare bedroom in private townhome with full-sized bed and private (en suite) bathroom with shower and tub. There is a full-size bed (and a large airbed for a second guest) and a small desk suitable for laptop use. Large closet with plenty of hangars.

    I provide breakfast: a variety of cereals, bread, bagels, waffles, oatmeal, eggs, milk, orange juice, coffee and tea are usually on hand. You must provide for your own lunch and dinner. (Please note that I follow the “keto” diet but you can cook and eat however you like.)

    You have full access to the kitchen as well as the living room, laundry room and back patio. The large-screen TV has network channels and a Roku with Hulu, Amazon Prime, Disney+ and many basic cable channels. I also an Xbox 360 with a modest selection of games.

    There is free wi-fi throughout the house.

    (CLOSED – COVID) Community pool and hot tub available year-round.

    Parking is not a problem, if you happen to have a car.

    For bicyclists, I have a "Giant Escape" men's touring bike in very good condition that you can borrow.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Phoenix is the capital and most populous city in Arizona. With over 1.6 million people, Phoenix is the fifth most populous city nationwide and the most populous state capital in the United States.

    The Phoenix metropolitan area, also known as the Valley of the Sun, offers a unique and exciting mix of American, Mexican and Indian peoples, culture and influences.

    Arizona is home to the world-renowned Grand Canyon, as well as Saguaro National Park, several national forests and numerous natural scenic venues -- from Mount Lemmon (a "Sky Island") in the south to famous Horseshoe Bend in the north.

    (CLOSED - COVID) Dozens of museums serve the valley, including the Phoenix Art Museum, the Heard Museum (Native American art and history), Arizona Capitol Museum, Arizona Military Museum, Hall of Flame Firefighting Museum, the Pueblo Grande Museum, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and the Arizona Science Center. The Musical Instrument Museum features the largest musical instrument collection in the world.

    The Phoenix Zoo has more than 1,300 animals in 95 viewing exhibits. Right next to the zoo, the Desert Botanical Gardens are acclaimed worldwide for their exhibits and educational programs, featuring the largest collection of arid plants in the U.S.

    (CLOSED – COVID) Phoenix is the home of professional teams in baseball, basketball, hockey, American football, women's basketball, and soccer.

    There are two popular hiking mountains (Camelback Mountain and Piestewa Peak) as well many nice nature preserves and hiking areas to explore. South Mountain Park, the largest municipal park in the U.S., is also the highest desert mountain preserve in the world. The city, meanwhile. is very flat and bike-friendly (though not all roads are).

    Public transportation options include local bus service and the Metro Light Rail. Rideshare services Uber and Lyft are also available.

    The Metro Light Rail is three miles down the road. If I'm free then I'll usually offer to drive you there. There is also a nearby bus stop that will take you straight there, or you can rideshare back and forth for about $5 each way. The Light Rail will take you to Downtown Phoenix, Sky Harbor Airport, the Phoenix Art Museum & Heard Museum, Chase Field (Diamondbacks) & Talking Stick Resort Arena (Suns), and further on to Tempe, ASU Main Campus, and Mesa.

    Phoenix is a good layover point for heading by car or bus to San Diego, Los Angeles and Albuquerque, as well as Utah and Texas. Sky Harbor Airport is one of the largest in the country and can get you to wherever your next destination might be.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    1-2 hour per day , 5 days a week

My CURRENT home is literally on the border of Glendale and Phoenix in Arizona.
My NEW home is in Bullhead City, a river-recreation town.
Your bedroom has a private (en suite) bathroom, full-size bed, small desk and large closet. There is also a large airbed for a second Workawayer. W-fi throughout the house.
Workawayers enjoy full house privileges -- including the main room, kitchen, laundry room and back patio.
Ivan the Love Sponge...
You can use the bike to explore or to get to the bus or light rail.
Two Workawayers preparing a communal dinner.
Helping with Ivan the Dog is always much appreciated.
Workawayers get day trips to the Grand Canyon and to Sahuaro National Park / Mount Lemmon.
A Workawayer being impressed by Saguaro National Park.
My converted minivan (and a six-person tent) stand ready for overnight camping and sightseeing.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 967695273928