Come learn about living off-the-grid and self-reliance in rural upstate New York, USA



Bisher 246 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Laurie and I are homesteaders, living off-the-grid in rural upstate New York in a strawbale, timberframe house, which we built primarily from material we gathered directly off the land. Our home is at the southern edge of the Adirondack State Park (largest state park in U.S. and largest wilderness in Eastern U.S.) with easy access to some of the most beautiful forest and mountains in the world. We're just 200 miles from New York City, Montreal and Boston, and 250 miles from Niagara Falls. We live on 68 acres of mostly forested hillside and heat our home with wood and the sun. Our electricity and hot water are also solar powered. We have done many presentations on simple living and homesteading skills, and in 2012 we were named Mother Earth News Homesteaders of the Year. Our lifestyle is one of self-reliance, and as such we engage in a wide variety of activities on a daily basis. We grow much of our food, and gardening is a big part of our life. We also keep a flock of chickens for eggs (and entertainment!), a couple of dogs and a cat. We always have building projects to work on, and we're active in our community. Laurie is a trained herbalist and yoga instructor as well as science professor at our local community college. Jim works at carpentry and other trades as circumstances require, and as a writer of both fiction and non-fiction . (Search for J. Lee Strickland to find examples of his writing both online and in print.) We're vegetarians committed to the struggle of living in the 21st Century and walking lightly on the earth.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We offer an opportunity for travelers to experience a glimpse of our self-reliant lifestyle where we work directly with the land to provide the basics of our day-to-day existence. We live a hands-on life where our first question is always. "How can I do this?" rather than, "Who will do this for me?" We are political liberals with an interest in and appreciation of all world cultures. As experienced teachers, we're ready to share our knowledge and to learn from others. We're also amateur musicians with a large collection of instruments available for group playing. Laurie is an avid hiker/backpacker and birder with a great store of knowledge about the Adirondack mountains. Jim is interested in languages and would love to practice his Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Greek, Italian, or any other language a workawayer might bring along. Jim is an experienced language tutor, happy to help others in their pursuit of improved communication skills.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Garden work is big from May to November. We grow without pesticides or chemical inputs in our deep mulch, no-till garden. Firewood gathering, splitting and stacking year-round. Building projects both large and small(no experience necessary, enthusiasm is your most important talent). Maintenance projects from plumbing repairs to realigning solar panels. Food preservation (canning, fermenting, pickling, root cellaring, etc.), as well as making yogurt, kefir, miso, sauerkraut, kimchi, bread and more. The chickens need love and attention every day.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Though we live off-the-grid, our accommodations are not rustic. We have a private guest room with queen-size bed, wireless high-speed internet, and access to laundry and modern kitchen facilities. The setting is rural and private but less than 4 miles from downtown shopping and entertainment. Our house is small by American standards (huge by other standards!) with just one bath, and our shallow, hand-dug well sometimes requires careful water use. Because we make our own electricity, that can be limited by the amount of sunshine. Our circumstances provide the opportunity for becoming conscious of the limits of the earth's resources. By the way, we have beautiful tenting sites as well. We would like to restrict original commitments to no more than two weeks. Longer stays can be negotiated on an individual basis.

    Please note: Both our water supply and our electricity are limited! If you are the sort of person who feels the need to shower every day, or if you carry a blow dryer among your grooming supplies, we are probably not a good fit for you. We expect visitors to practice conscious conservation, to carefully examine their impact on the earth, and lighten it wherever possible.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Adirondack State Park with its 46 high peaks, hundreds of miles of well-marked hiking trails, lakes and waterways, countless sites of historical importance. Bus station to Schenectady/Albany and all points beyond (e.g. NYC or Montreal) is 3 miles (5 km) away in Gloversville. Train station is 15 miles (25 km) away in Amsterdam. Albany International Airport is 40 miles (64 km) away. Uber has recently become available in our area, and there is traditional taxi service as well.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have reliable high speed internet, wifi, and a relatively distraction-free environment.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Our driveway is narrow, winding, and steep in spots, but we have had campers as large as a 23 foot Winnebago here.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 955253913937