Help care for rescued animals or with repairs at an animal sanctuary near Larnaca, Cyprus

Country

Zypern

aktualisiert  

Bisher 138 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    68.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small, registered, not for profit animal Sanctuary. We rescue, rehabilitate and rehome unwanted, abused and neglected animals at our farm near Larnaca Airport, on the island of Cyprus. I'm Rochelle (59), the founder, and together with my daughter, Ellie (21), we take care of 35 stray/injured dogs and puppies, 15 rehabilitated rescued horses, 17 rescued cats and kittens, 2 pigs, several rescued chickens and a flock of previously injured birds. Our sanctuary is situated in a beautiful rural valley with stunning views all around, and hardly a human to be seen in a week!

    We aim to rehome as many of our rehabilitated dogs as we can, and we have rehomed hundreds of dogs to the UK and Europe since 2013 when we unexpectedly began this vocation. The sanctuary is a home environment so you will not see dogs living in cages, but running around freely with each other, playing and having a great country life. We are home to a group of disabled dogs, and most of these stay with us to live their lives out at the sanctuary. You'll see them running around in their wheelchairs playing with the other dogs and enjoying being loved family dogs. Our horses live in a free herd too, and are friendly, and keen to be ridden and walked out. We use natural horsemanship, gentle training, and encourage our horses to work in partnership with us.

    We are just 2 people, so volunteers make a huge difference to us. We need help taking care of the animals, feeding twice daily, cleaning habitats, walking dogs and horses, providing companionship for all the animals. We also need help with habitat repairs, fencing repairs, and general fixing around the farm.

    I should mention that we also have around 100 olive trees on our farm, and we produce organic olive oil. Being only 2 people, we struggle with harvest and irrigation - so we really appreciate volunteers to help take care of these trees!

    What you will find if you volunteer with us is an environment where we work very hard everyday to make a safe place in the world for animals. We cannot offer volunteers a "holiday" or a "stress free retreat". Our work involves hard physical labour in all weather conditions - and it is extremely stressful. PLEASE do not apply to our Sanctuary if you are not prepared to commit 100% to working with animals.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn so much here! The work is very hands on and your knowledge of animals will broaden massively. You'll experience life in a sanctuary and help care for the animals day-to-day. Certainly you will experience the dedication and hard work involved in giving disadvantaged animals a healthy, happy life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need people to help with the animals, and also maintenance and DIY. There is a lot of poop picking and cleaning involved in caring for the animals, so this shouldn't be an issue for you!

    Help with the horses:
    We have a herd of rescue horses that need to be cared for daily. It is a physical job so being physically fit is important. The main duties you would helping us with would be;
    -Feeding the horses morning and evening.
    -Letting them out of their stables and putting them to bed.
    -Making up hay nets and distributing them around the paddock 3 times a day.
    -Poo picking/mucking out the stables and paddock.
    -Brushing and washing the horses when needed.

    Help with the dogs:
    We have up to 40 dogs & 20 cats that need care. Some have special needs, so a a positive attitude is a MUST if you'd like to work with them. The duties you would be helping us with are;
    -Feeding morning and evening.
    -Poop picking all areas where dogs are.
    -Cleaning and disinfecting dog and cat areas.
    -Changing their blankets in their beds when needed.
    -Putting disabled dogs into their wheels and taking them out again.
    -Walking dogs!
    -Befriending nervous dogs/cats that need human interaction so they become socialised.
    -Take daily photos and videos so we can promote our dogs/cats for adoption.

    Help with maintenance and DIY:
    There is always something to be fixed around the sanctuary so we need someone that is keen to do this type of work. Some examples of jobs include:
    -Fixing holes in fences.
    -Repairing the horse stables.
    -Repairing anything that may need it such as fixing gates, or putting on new paint.
    -Chopping trees for fire wood.

    This work may vary depending on they day. No two days are the same here so you could be doing new things during your working week - but remember that we are always here to help you too!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a large, old farmhouse with en-suite bedrooms. All bedrooms have a balcony. When we have less volunteers, you will have your own room, but sharing is a possibility. The house is very cold in the winter because there is no heating.

    All meals/beverages are included. Breakfast is DIY and taken either first thing or after the animals are fed, depending on your preference. Lunch is DIY. Dinner is taken together in the evening at the family table. We are vegetarian.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Please note that dogs and cats live in the house, so if you are allergic to them or scared of them, this isn't the best place for you.
    We like to keep our place tidy so we appreciate people who pick up after themselves and keep the place clean.
    Smoking is NOT allowed.
    We eat only vegetarian food here - no meat products.
    We live in a remote area - very isolated from humans.
    There is a rural bus into Larnaca town. The bus goes twice a day. The bus stop is 2kms walk from the sanctuary. There is no other transport link.
    We are not close to a beach.
    There is only a bakery and pharmacy in the village which is 2kms walk away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day. 5 days per week maximum. Our volunteers must have good physical health for this lifestyle!

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 954392583128