Bauhilfe, Einzäunung und typische Aufgaben in einem Bauernhof sowie Hilfe mit Solarpanelen, Bisbee, Arizona, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 218 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.01.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    270

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Just 20 minutes east of Bisbee, Arizona, I have been building and garden/farming since 2007. An artist by profession, building alternative earth-based structures and organic growing of food have also been my passions. I built an earthbag dome, strawbale pumphouse, papercrete outdoor kitchen, and more. I apprenticed at CalEarth in November of 2007 in Nader Khalili's last group of students. Nader was adamant about all of us teaching so I began hosting a monthly open house (every 1st Sunday for over 7 years!)

    I brought garden/farming into the picture in 2009 and have decades of experience in desert growing from date-farming in the 1970's to my present interest in drought-tolerant native varieties of staple foods.

    I love learning new techniques and approaches and sharing ideas and experience with others . When I found Bisbee in 2004, I knew I had found my tribe! An extraordinarily progressive and supportive community. I feel lucky to be here. Please ask me for my blog for more.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travelers could learn about several sustainable building systems, growing food in a harsh environment, and hopefully teach me some things as well! Also an opportunity to spend time in one of the most unique and fascinating small towns anywhere, Bisbee, Arizona.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Farming and building are hard , dirty work no matter what techniques one uses! Currently, I need help with an earthbag building and some new fencing plus miscellaneous farm tasks. I would also like to have help from an experienced person with designing a solar hot-water system.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    At our ranch I have a really nice small camper-trailer; possibility of staying in my dome there; camping on site is also an option. Additional space is currently a project nearing completion. It is high-desert here and the hottest weather is in the 90's in May and June. (This is not like the more extreme heat in the low-desert areas) The coldest months are December, January. (Daytime highs avg 60s, nighttime lows avg 30s)
    Cooking facilities on site are good but no refrigerator. (I am off the grid)
    P.s. I like to cook and eat good food and have fun while I work.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are numerous local opportunities to hike/camp if one has transportation. I can transport people into town for time off, showers, laundry etc. but not every day. Bisbee is on the National Historic Registry and often has excellent live music in many of it's unique venues. We are 5 miles from the Mexican border.

    The Tucson airport is 2hours away .

    I must also remind people that this IS the desert. Yes, there are rattlesnakes, scorpions, etc. and one must be intelligent about living around these creatures. My first intern volunteer, was quite terrified about the possibility of encountering snakes but determined to overcome this , and she did! Good boots are recommended if possible!

    I now have a hotspot for wifi although it stays with me and I am not always at the ranch.
    I believe passionately in the need for small farms , small sustainably-built dwellings , and community. I still enjoy hard work which I have always done but must admit I am slowing down at 67. I want to continue developing this project before I pass it along to others but now I need some help to accomplish this.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)












Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 954295917923