Come stay on beautiful Cortes Island- British Columbia, Canada



Bisher 62 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    We are a busy family of five who live on beautiful Cortes Island, located in a gorgeous rainforest on Canada's west coast. We truly live in paradise here where we have access to pristine beaches, awe-inspiring mountain vistas, and seemingly endless forests to explore. Some of the fun activities we like to do here are mushroom picking, listening to whales while watching the sunset on the beach, clam digging, oyster smoking, hiking mountains, cooking using locally harvested foods, and countless other activities that we are afforded here in this amazing place.

    At home, we have ten acres of forest and land to run around and do projects on. We have a huge 1/4 acre garden that we are able to subsist off for most of the summer months and there are always things happening either at home or in the community. Lately, we've been really busy with our new baby and the garden has become a bit of a jungle but we're hoping to put in at least half of the garden this spring. If you come to help us with this we can set you up either on the couch or a sleeping bag in the house or if you would like something more private we also have tents.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our life is a very typical west coast gulf island lifestyle and if you come to stay with us you'll get a good sense of what life is like for working-class islanders who chose to live off the land as much as is possible.

    We live pretty far from the city, about six hours north of Vancouver, and two ferry rides away from the small city of Campbell River, B.C. This allows us to live in a way that is free from the hectic busyness of urbanity and it forces us to be more autonomous and independent from the systems in the city that keep people largely dependent on corporations and governments.

    We try to grow as much food for ourselves as is possible and when we're not growing food, we're hunting, foraging, or harvesting from the wild abundance that our beaches and forests provide us. We always try to teach our visitors these skills so that they too can be more autonomous in their own lives.

    If you come to stay with us you'll not only get to visit one of the most beautiful and pristine islands on the west coast, but we'll do our best to share our knowledge and skills that we have with you. Both of us were university educated people who decided to live like hippies (maybe that makes us hippies), so when we first got here we had to go through some major learning curves as we adjusted to rural life. We're happy to share what we've learned and we acknowledge that there is always more to learn!

    So if you're interested in learning how to dig clams, smoke and can oysters, process meats, identify mushrooms and other west coast edible plants, garden, and take care of chickens, get in touch :)

  • Arbeit


    We're looking for help taking care of our garden, housework, and children. The type of help that you can give will depend on your own skills and what you feel comfortable helping us with, but we do have a lot on the go and we could use help with any and/or all of it. Primarily the type of help we're looking for is garden, firewood, and housework related so that we can have more time to spend with our children.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Chinesisch (Mandarin): Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We have couches, sleeping bags, and if you need something more private, tents.

    You would have access to all the food in the house (and garden!) and you would preferably share meals with us. We're meat eaters, so if you are a vegan or vegetarian, or if you have other dietary restrictions, you might have to prepare your own meals. We have tons of lentils, beans, quinoa, and rice in our pantry so you would probably have no problem doing so with the ingredients on hand.

    Also, we eat a lot of spice, so if you're good with spice, all the better.

    We also have a lot of baking ingredients and if you like baking, awesome!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    With your time off there are lots of amazing places to explore on this island. Our island is full of both regional and provincial parks, beaches, bluffs, mountains and forest walks. It's easy and safe to hitchhike around here, and we also have mountain bikes that you can borrow. We're located in Whaletown, within walking distance to Carrington Bay park, Whaletown Commons, and the Gorge Marina. There is also a free store on the island where everything is free, and if you're looking for community we have two community halls that offer a wide variety of classes and events on the island. Our "downtown" is in Mansons Landing where there is a trendy coop cafe and a museum to explore.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 952488221351