Join an Italo-Brazilian family living in a farm in Puglia, Italy

Country

Italien

Bisher 121 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    89.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are an Italo-Brazilian couple (Ana and Pantaleo) with two small boys (Luca and Matteo, turning 9 and 7) and a grown-up girl (Joana, 24) living in a farm in sunny Southern Italy. Pantaleo is an international consultant with development agencies. Before COVID-19, he used to spend one third of his time working abroad. Now he has joined the ever increasing team of home officers, and has to face the huge challenge of balancing work, family, farm, pets and personal demands being at home, phew! Ana dedicates part of her time to assisting Pantaleo and is also a part-time yoga teacher. Additionally, she is the family cook and driver :-)

    We are looking for someone who loves kids and countryside life, to give us a hand with Luca and Matteo (turning 7 and 9). During the school season, Italian-speaking guests can assist the kids with homework, while English-speakers can help the kids improve their language skills. Portuguese or Spanish fluency is a plus. The person should have a driver's license and be willing to drive the kids to extra-school activities, when needed. In all seasons, we highly value creative and outdoor play, as we try to limit the kids' screen time as much as possible. Finally, as we will be living as a family, participation in house and garden chores is expected.

    For the summer 2021, we would also love to have someone willing to help us in the farm. We are particularly interested in someone who could help us maintaining our vegetable garden as well our recently planted 700 olive trees.

    Note: Unfortunately we are not in the position of helping applicants to Italian citizenship.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The area where we live is known as Salento, located in the heel of the Italian boot. Here you will find the sun shining all year round, the the uniquely turquoise Mediterranean sea (20 minutes by car), astonishing sea cliffs, magical pinewoods, the constant wind, either the warm humid Scirocco blowing from Africa, or the cold dry Tramontana blowing from the North. In our home, you will get used to people switching from Portuguese to Italian to English, while listening to jazz and Brazilian music :-) You'll also have access to some musical instruments, as Pantaleo is a late trumpet player and is instilling his passion into Luca and Matteo. We are adept of family meals and used to cooking and eating together. You will be most welcome to join us and share your recipes and food stories, as we believe this is part of a rich cultural exchange. After dinner, especially in wintertime, we like to do some family activity, like card games and story telling. We are early birds and sports lovers. There are bikes, all sorts of balls and even an amateur soccer/football pitch in the farm. In the early hours of the morning I try to keep the habit of my personal yoga practice, and you may eventually join me. Finally, if you have gardening skills and practice, we could definitely take advantage of your advice, as the farm needs some embellishment efforts :-)

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    - Babysitting the kids mostly in the afternoons. This includes watching over their homework, reinforcing house rules (e.g. limiting daily screen time, which means proposing creative and outdoor activities), accompanying (including driving) them to their extra-school activities (Luca is a footballer while Matteo takes circus classes);
    - Supporting on house chores such as cooking, cleaning, caring for the dog and the cats;
    - Gardening
    - Farming

    The person we are looking for has the following qualities/skills:

    - Love for children, pets and the countryside lifestyle
    - Playfulness and interest in creative and outdoor activities with children
    - Experience with education is a plus
    - Patience
    - Positivity
    - Good work ethics
    - Drivers’ licence
    - Cooking abilities
    - Independence, organisation and tidiness are also important

    Preferred languages spoken: Italian (during school season), English (at all times), Portuguese, Spanish or French (in this order of preference). Our children understand Italian and Portuguese, and we would like them to be exposed to and trained in other languages, particularly English, so we are absolutely fine with you speaking your native language with them. They learn fast and we believe it is enriching for everyone involved.

    We are looking for someone who wants to commit for at least 1 month.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own private room with shared bathroom (the house has three bathrooms so this should not be a problem). You'll be asked to keep your room clean, do your own laundry and help around, particularly in the kitchen. The house has decent heating (not obvious in Southern Italy) and wi-fi.

    We offer full board, not exclusively but mainly vegetarian, with many fresh organic vegetables.

    You can use one of our bikes and our second family car, if available, in your free time.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You can enjoy the surrounding countryside and seaside (google Torre Sant’Andrea and Torre Dell'Orso to see what our seaside looks like!). Running and cycling are good options, and you can borrow one of our bikes anytime during your stay. You can also visit beautiful historical cities such as Lecce (20 minutes drive) and Otranto (30 minutes drive). Within 2 hours drive, there are many other options, including natural parks, the city of Matera, etc. for short weekend trips. Public transport is very inefficient, but there is a train station (Sternatia) 5 minutes by car from the farm, from where you can take trains directed to Lecce, Otranto and Gallipoli. You can also borrow our second family car, when available, in your free time.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 949644142173