People with homesteading experience will be wholeheartedly welcomed at farm in West Virginia, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 17 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This old farmhouse in "Almost Heaven " West Virginia needs some caretaking year round. I am a 70-year old widow who is healthy and active, but I run out of energy quicker than I used to. I am wintering over out here in the hollow, but I work too, as a substitute teacher, so I stay in town sometimes. And I'm going to be a workawayer starting in January. So I need someone to keep the home fires going and look after the four cats. (They are in charge of varmit control.) There are plenty of homesteading projects to keep us busy. I am in hopes of creating a self-sufficient community some day,

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will experience the peaceful, easy feeling of living basically in the woods. (It's a half-mile off the paved road, with no neighbors in sight.) You'll see deer, for sure, and probably wild turkey as well as other wildlife. Birds of different sorts are plentiful. You'll likely hear the wild cries of coyotes. At night stars pop out at you and a full moon is spectacular. Warmer months bring numerous different kinds of flowers. Make your own hiking trails. Enjoy God's gifts of nature year round.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    People with homesteading experience and wood stove maintenance would be very helpful. I purchase firewood, but getting it into the house and wood stoves is a constant job in the winter. I have two small small perma-culture garden plots that will be enhanced and expanded over the winter. There are other projects as well, including renovation of a camper trailer to house other workawayers come Spring.The back door needs a shed roof to keep rain away from back stoop. I have a side-by-side 4-wheeler that is not running now, so I could use a mechanic.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    I speak un poco Español and would welcome Spanish-speaking people.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house was built circa 1875, in a hollow between two hills next to two intersecting creeks. It has been modernized, but is still quite rustic. It does not have Internet or cell phone service. (You wouldn't have to go too far to get them, if needed.) Instead of cable or satellite TV, I use Netflix via the mail. The spare bedroom has three single beds, suitable for three adults or a family. There is a bathroom with a shower for all to share. The house kitchen is always open. The grocery store is only a 20-minute drive away. I like to cook for others, so I will provide some meals when I'm there. I go to a mission-minded church twice a week, so you're welcome to come along.

    Host will provide meals when she is there; otherwise provisions will be provided.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Two near-by towns have their own museums to explore the local history. The ferry across the Ohio River runs spring through fall. The Festival of Lights, an hour away, is a big Christmas-time attraction. Wheeling has concerts and shows. There are hunting and fishing accommodations nearby, as well as canoeing and kayaking.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 946593742481