Join our homestead in West Virginia, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 1052 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 18 Sept. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    Our place is very private and quiet. It has been said “It’s absolutely fantastic; the buildings are snug and wonderful, this homestead is a perfect little rustic hideaway in the Appalachian mountains." Need early risers, have an inner enjoyment of nature, enjoys rustic living. Our place has 21 wooded acres and 3 cleared acres.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Workawayers can learn more about rural living, what is required at a homestead, how to grow and preserve your own food, beekeeping, and much more. Workawayers will also experience the beauty of the mountains of West Virginia. We go on sightseeing excursions at times for helpers. Hanging Rock Raptor Observatory, Sandstone Falls in Hinton where Lassie was filmed, The Legend of John Henry at Big Bend. in Talcott. Also, there is white water rafting and ziplines. There is no public transportation in our rural area. There is the Amtrak Train line from NYC to Chicago IL with no transfers, our depot is Hinton. We pick you up.

  • Arbeit


    Looking for 2 types of helpers. 1, looking for female helper only interested in a home stay.
    2. looking for female homestead helper. Below are our daily routines and projects.

    Welcome Helpers. We are a family of 5 living in the Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia. Sue is the founder of the Homestead. Her daughter moved to the hollow later, then her husband, then 2 daughters. Our homestead consists of 3 cabins. (1) Sue's, (2) daughter & husband & daughters, and (3) a very-very small guest cabin. Also, a private upstairs room with private entrance. There are no city lights, and you can see every star on a clear night.

    We have a lot you can be involved in, knowledge to share, friendships to build, and opportunities for growth.
    Here are some of our daily routines and some projects. Helpers can assistance with these, but not written in stone and subject to change.
    Cleaning/organizing inside of the homes.
    Organizing sheds.
    Sewing/quilting, etc.
    General land upkeep: Mulch/compost, Mow grass, weed whack, pull weeds.
    Care for honeybees along with painting bee boxes,
    General upkeep,
    Mend chicken fence.
    Feed/water cat.
    Water house plants,
    Plant and care for perennial flowers.
    Plant garden vegetables then weed, cultivate, harvest & home-can vegetables (gardening April to fall frost).
    Water garden and fruit trees in dry periods. Using rainwater or river water.
    There are ongoing building projects of all kinds. Construction and home improve projects like prepping and painting the outside of the cabins and various other painting inside and outside and sealing projects.
    Clearing a trail for hiking.
    For Helpers this is done according to priority & situation at the time. A typical day might include all or limited aspects of the above. During a 7-day time period, 5 hours of help per day with 2 days off, is negotiable.

    Ongoing bucket wish list projects for now and years to come *️️️️️️️️️️ Build bird houses with pieces of accumulated lumber. *️️️️️️️️️️Build a dry stack rock wall from 150-year-old cut foundation rock.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    There are 3 cabins, and all are original one of a kind.
    * The guest cabin is VERY small, rustic, cozy and unique with hardwood floors throughout. The cabin has steps going up to a covered porch. There is a VERY small study/sitting room. The VERY small kitchenette has a dormitory refrigerator, hotplate, microwave, toaster oven and all utensils. We also provide basic food for your cabin. The bathroom has a tub with shower, sink, and toilet. There is a ladder going to an EXTRA small sleeping loft which sleeps one person. This cabin is used during warm weather only from April thru September and sometimes early October depends on the weather.
    * There also is a private upstairs room with an outside door. There is a partial kitchenette and staple food provided. There is no running water in this room, however drinking and cooking water is provided. Bath facilities will be shared in host cabin.

    We are omnivores and cannot accommodate most other diets. We enjoy cooking and you are welcome to eat with us, or you may fix your own. If you enjoy cooking, you are welcome to share your creations with us.

    We share the land line phone. Bring your computer and you can use Wi-Fi when service is available. Will pick you up at the bus station, Amtrak train station, or you can use your auto.

    There is an area which we use for campfires in the evening. We usually sit around & talk & eat s’mores etc.

    We do not have public TV reception of any kind. We have a flat screen and many VCR's which you are welcome to watch. Our internet service is slow due to over usage or not available. We have a piano, guitar, and ukulele which can be used with permission. There is a bike which can be used with permission. We have a very-very large selection of books about living off the land and many-many other subjects which are helpful for homesteading. On your down time you are welcome to read any of our books. We have a washing machine and clothesline for you to use. We provide bed linens and towels.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Reliable & self-motivated. Mechanical aptitude & carpentry knowledge a plus. Experience with animal husbandry & homesteading practices a plus. We seek people sufficiently interested in homesteading. Lets read, think & talk - this helps to improve the homestead, which requires patience, teamwork, cooperative and communication skills. Need helpers who like being early risers, have an inner enjoyment of nature, enjoys rustic living. Smoking & drinking are not permitted. We meet regularly in which everyone is expected to participate; this is a great opportunity to learn.

    What else:
    We are not a typical American Farm. We have no fields and no farming equipment. We are not off grid. We are on the electric grid, however there is a generator for essential appliances when needed.
    Smoking and drinking or drugs are not allowed on our property.
    Am open communication is the key to a successful experience, so please feel free to ask questions.
    We look forward to hosting you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours per day 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 13827354384d

Feedback (6)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (3.5)

Welcoming a little help with some homestead projects in Texas, USA
Website designer blog videographer, NGO technical help request in Connecticut, USA