Help restore our tiny little bit of land to its maximum potential in terms of biodiversity in Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 154 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a couple (Tom, 39 and Jacqui, 33). We have recently been granted planning permission under Wales' progressive new One Planet Development policy to build a house and develop our business on our land. To obtain this we have had to demonstrate a commitment to low impact and ecologically sensitive practice while meeting certain productivity / income targets. We are currently building a (hempcrete) house and are looking for help with some aspects of this but we are mostly looking for someone to help us look after the land while our focus is on the house.
    The site is 10 acres... a beautiful, sheltered, South facing slope with great views. There is an abundant spring on site, the water quality from which is excellent. The soil is very fertile, deep and free draining. We are between 110 and 140m above sea level.
    The plan is to run a tree nursery and advisory service specialising in useful planting for the self reliant smallholder. This means we are planting a high diversity of trees on our land in order to have the parent stock for propagation. Some species have been planted en masse in order to derive supplementary seasonal income from their crop (examples being Chilean Guava, hardy Kiwi, Aronia, Sea Buckthorn, Walnut, Black Locust, Elaeagnus and Elder.) We keep very friendly Badger-face sheep to graze beneath the trees. We source as much of our food as possible from our own land or nearby producers, which means that we accept meat and dairy in our diets. We will try our best to cater for other dietary choices / needs our visitors may have.
    We are very busy people who work hard and have a passion for what we do. It is very important to us that volunteers feel like they are getting a good value deal for their work here. We have a good deal of knowledge which we are keen to share with others and hope you will leave feeling as though you've learned a lot. This would be a good place to stay if you have an interest in regenerative agriculture, organic farming, agroecology, silvopasture / agroforestry systems, permaculture or whatever else you want to call it these days!
    Please remember that our project is in the early establishment phase.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a very beautiful part of Wales close to the Preseli hills and the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.
    There are many lovely beaches within a half an hour drive.
    We are Welsh speakers and have lived in Wales our whole lives so can hopefully give visitors a little insight into the language, culture and history of the area.
    We are both very interested in regenerative farming and have a library of interesting books on the subject which you could lend during your stay.
    Tom is a lifelong plant enthusiast and can help with wild plant identification etc.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with general maintenance of the site which includes mowing, weeding (brambles!!), cutting back overgrown hedgerows etc, working with the sheep, mulching, pruning etc etc.
    There's always something to do in the nursery - watering, potting on, planting out, tidying up etc.
    We are building our house at the moment so anyone with building or carpentry experience would be very welcome. There are also lots of other tasks of varying skill levels.
    Come prepared to be tired (and well fed) by the end of the day!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Welsh: Fließend
    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a static caravan which is part 'site office' and part volunteer accommodation. We got it for free a few years ago... so don't expect a five-star hotel. It has electricity, water and a wood fire. At the time of writing, the only toilet is a nearby makeshift compost toilet while the house is being built - but we are not far from having our main toilet operational. Shower is an outdoor 'horse shower' type for now.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We ask for 3-4 days a week work in return for staying with us. We provide lunch and dinner on the days you help but ask that you sort your own breakfast and all meals on your days off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Reclaimed slates going on the roof
Hempcrete house coming along... Autumn 2018
Wildlower meadow, year 2 from establishment
Tree nursery
Tom
Jacqui
Firewood
Relax, we're professionals
Goat fencing
New stone gateway

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 945865619138