Suche jemanden für Ideenaustausch und angeregte Gespräche über nachhaltiges Leben in Torquay, Devon, Großbritannien

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 888 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    81  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.11.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    82

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    All Covid safety conditions will be applied.

    Please note that we do not take anyone for less than 3 weeks, and prefer longer stays.

    Ideally we are looking for someone with either some experience of looking after animals and/or some knowledge of gardening, OR you must have a real interest in learning about them. Please do not apply if all you are after is a change of scene.

    IMPORTANT

    It is vital that you read our whole profile. You must refer to it in your message or we will not take you. Please, please do not waste your time and ours. Thank you.

    Philosophy:
    We have a small holding in Devon where we aim to grow as much of our own food as we can in an organic and sustainable way. So we have a small orchard, a Kitchen Garden for vegetable growing, a fruit garden for soft fruit plus half acre of flower gardens. We also have poultry (Chickens, various ducks, and geese) and there are bees which belong to a friend. The poultry are not for eating, but do provide us with a plentiful supply of eggs for most of the year.

    Although not self sufficient in fruit and vegetables we do try to grow what we can, so there is usually fresh veg in season. 

    NB please note that in the UK a Small Holding is not a business.

    All that we do here is on an organic basis often growing heritage varieties of fruit and vegetables.
    We also have cats who share our home so it is not a good idea if you are allergic to them.

    Requirements:
    Our needs are for people with either knowledge of, or interest in, gardening, vegetable/ fruit growing or some practical experience with woodwork or poultry keeping or grass cutting and using machinery. During the winter months we also need help preparing wood for the winter. If you are willing to learn we will do our best to teach you, it would be helpful is you are self motivated.

    Most of the work is outdoors and subject to the changing English weather.
    Some of the help we need doing is heavy, and some of it is repetitive, so if you are not prepared for physical work then we are probably not the place for you.

    Please can I say that we have had contact from some lovely people who tell me that they are good with children. 
    We are a smallholding with no children.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️To be sure that you have read our profile could you please write to me personally by including my name, 'Katy', at the beginning of your message.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    I am not entirely sure what a digital nomad is. So haven't checked that.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Phil and I come from very different work backgrounds to the life we lead now, so we both have a wide circle of interests which we are always happy to share with our helpers.

    We are both proud of our commitment to sustainable living, both in terms of the technology we use here and also with the food we grow.
    We truly enjoy the exchange of knowledge and ideas that we gain from our helpers.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Routines:
    A vital part of the help we need is the daily poultry care which consists of:
    Morning routine 8am (later in winter): Letting the birds out (a 5 to 10 minute job for one person)
    9am day starts with the bird routines; checking they have clean water, collecting eggs, labelling and storing them. Assuming you choose to have an hour for lunch the helping day finishes at 3pm
    Evening routine for the birds is between 6.30pm and 7.30pm in summer (3.30 to 4.00pm in winter) about 20 minutes:
    All the birds need cleaning out once a week. (A pretty heavy, dirty task)
    The rest of the help required here varies with the time of the year - from digging over neglected flower beds to stone wall building. Carpentry is a huge benefit since we have chicken sheds and goose houses in need of renovation/replacement.
    In winter wood preparation for fires is essential.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    With a kitchen garden providing much of our veg, in the summer and autumn, and an acre of garden I need additional help with gardening and garden maintenance including fruit picking and preparation in season.
    We also need assistance with poultry shed repair/maintenance or groundworks so gardening knowledge/experience or maintenance experience will be given priority.

    We are still in the process of renovating my sadly neglected flower beds, this involves some heavy digging because, although the ground has been dug over before we are on heavy clay so you do need to be reasonably fit. We also have an acre of lawns/grass which need cutting and maintaining during the growing season. Attention to detail essential.

    Being a small holding there are always projects on the go.

    Time off:
    So in total we are looking for 5 hours per day (plus the little extra for the birds, 5 days per week, with 2 days off, usually after the first 5 days. But we are always open to discussing this and will be as flexible as we can.
    Because the birds need putting to bed in the evening this does mean that free time in the afternoon becomes very short in the winter as it gets dark early. But then a long free evening.
    Hopefully volunteers will come here because they want to join in our various projects and become involved, this is not a cheap way to have a holiday.

    But for those on limited money we do provide everything which is essential for living, apart from your own personal toiletries and cost of travel.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    In exchange for the help our helpers have their own private self contained bungalow with it's own kitchen and living space. Each bedroom has its own private bathroom with shower. 

    We provide all bed linen and towels and essentials. (soap etc)

    Meals:
    Because you have your own kitchen we provide essential food items for breakfast and a snack lunch which you prepare for yourself. There are shops within a 25 minute walk from the house if you want to provide extras for your self.
    I cook a full meal in the evening for us all to enjoy together. This is our opportunity to talk, exchange views and learn about each other. 
    We have enjoyed experiencing other nationalities' cuisine and we are always happy if people want to do the cooking for us occasionally, although this is not essential.
    We do not eat red meat and I do not buy any. Preferring fish, poultry and vegetarian meals. I am sorry but I can not provide for a vegan diet.

    We do try to live as eco friendly as we can and request that people respect this by not wasting food, water and electricity.
    I am sorry but we do not take smokers, vegans or dogs (sorry but the cats and poultry don't like them)
    A TV is provided and internet access is available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Clothes:
    Since this is a smallholding and the help needed is outdoors it is a good idea to come prepared for English weather. Coats/waterproofs and boots useful, (even in the summer). We have some spares which you are welcome to borrow but cannot accommodate all sizes. We do provide gloves, unless you prefer to bring your own.

    Days/time off:
    We live just outside Torquay in the beautiful county of Devon. There are good shops about a mile (under 2Km) away and we have bicycles you can borrow. The nearest bus stop is under a mile away (about 1.5Km) and Torquay town is a 15 minute bus ride away. Once in Torquay there are good links to the rest of the West Country with many wonderful places to visit, including Plymouth and historic Exeter. A dayrider ticket on the buses cost just £5 with access to lots of buses for the whole day.
    We are always happy to help you to get around on your days off. 

    Ideally we would like someone, or a couple, who would like to stay for a few weeks or even months, assuming that we all get on. Compatibility is all important to us as is communication. If there are problems it is better to talk to us about them.
    Although you have your own house to live in you are sharing our home so it is really important for us to know that we will all get on well together:
    ******
    So when you write please do tell us plenty about yourself, your likes, interests, reason for travelling, why you think you would enjoy staying with us and what skills and experience you can offer. 
    The more information you give about yourselves the better for us to be sure we will work well together and enjoy our social time. 
    Please could you also make sure that you have a picture on your profile, or arrange to send us one. 

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours (plus some help with the birds) 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.4)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.2)

Kommunikation: (4.3)
















































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 943495451944