Help us at our ethical horse farm while enjoying the countryside in Greater Manchester, UK



Bisher 275 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    ***COVID UPDATE*** We cannot currently host guests in our house due to COVID restrictions and due to my grandma staying in the workawayers' usual room.
    We can welcome anyone who has separate accomodation i.e. a motorhome which we could accommodate on our car park or someone staying/living locally.

    We are a family farm set in 50+ acres on the edge of the Peak District, just 25 mins on the train from Manchester City Centre.
    We have 5 rescue horses of our own in a herd of between 12-17. Our farm is an ethical, holistic horse farm which we run largely according to Equicentral System principles (give it a Google). Our horses live together as a herd all year round, never in stables.

    Myself and my boyfriend are converting a van to live in and have just acquired 2.5 acres adjoining the farm where we plan to grow all our own food (eventually) following organic, permaculture principles, as well as creating a forest garden.
    I would love to eventually set up a CIC or charity in order to share knowledge of sustainable land management, horse behaviour and emotions, positive reinforcement training for horses, sustainable food growing, eco building, and various crafts, with people from different parts of society who wouldn't normally have a chance to come together or the finances to pay for a course.

    My boyfriend a mega talented joiner, plumber and mechanic.
    I teach Spanish, work in children's residential care and spend my spare time with my horses, crafting, or in the garden. I love to try and grow or forage my own food and medicine and try out food preservation techniques (although this has lead to me getting the new nickname 'Mouldfinger')

    I currently work away anywhere from 1 to 3 days a week and my mum is shielding so we are not always able to have much interaction with volunteers. As there may be a few days a week of alone time, the farm might better suit couples/ friends travelling together. However, when we are around me and my boyfriend are very sociable and will take any willing volunteers around the local pubs and eateries!

    We need extra help with the more physical jobs and/or building things.

    We are very interested, and have some knowledge, in:
    Eco-building, sustainability, permaculture, companion planting, food forests, foraging, plant identification, food preservation techniques, zoopharmaconosy, medicinal plants and natural remedies, pilates, the horse-human relationship, mindfulness with animals and classical dressage.

    My mum speaks French and German and I speak Spanish and some French. We like learning new languages or helping with English language so language learners are very welcome.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Things you can learn more about here:
    -Equine behaviour and welfare
    -Horse care
    -Equine emotions and body language
    -Sustainable pasture management practices
    - Rights of way laws and info (bridleways/footpaths etc).

    We are set in a beautiful village with lovely countryside and walks but also very near to Manchester which is a culturally vibrant city with a great food and music scene. There lots to do and explore here!
    We enjoy sharing, language learning and cultural exchange and like to meet new people with different ideas.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Currently help can include any of the following:
    -Caring for horses, including lots of poo picking. Poo is rarely an enjoyable thing to work with but you do get to ride a quad bike and trailer, a brilliant view and time with the horses while you're doing it.
    -Building and repairing shelters/fences and general maintenance
    -Pasture /hedgerow management and maintenance
    -DIY garden projects

    I can give guidance with most of the above minus DIY skills, so anyone with building skills would be invaluable!
    Practical and hands-on people are very welcome.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Due to COVID we can only currently accomodate motor homes/ caravans / vans or people staying elsewhere locally.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have a fairly relaxed attitude to work and like to give volunteers plenty of time to themselves to go exploring.
    Any volunteers must be friendly and good with animals and people.
    We can provide food including vegan options if you let us know.
    We expect volunteers to be fairly self sufficient (do most of your own washing, cooking and cleaning).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a car park big enough for horse boxes so should be able to accomodate any motorhome. We don't have electric hook up but there are some plugs around the farm if you need extra electric.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    May be able to accept pets depending on requirements.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3-5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 941133847342