Stop in Edmonton, Alberta's capital city

Country

Kanada

Bisher 143 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Toni and Les are a middle aged couple who both work (Toni is an editor for a publishing company and is now semi-retired and Les has a Water Treatment business) and also manage short-term accommodation (separate houses), mostly for students. They have done international homestay in their own house for over 20 years with students from over 30 different countries.

    They have a small home built in 1908 with a wonderful side deck that they use for cooking and eating and relaxing summer evenings. Their yard has a lot of flowers and the street they live on is canopied with large elm trees. Daylight in the summer goes at least to 10 pm.

    They have been scout leaders and avid campers. They have a travel trailer for travelling and are also working on a coach to eventually move into and travel in when they retire. They have a houseboat on the coast of BC and like to go there for holidays during the summer to spend time on the ocean salmon and halibut fishing.

    They have done several "holiday exchanges" whereby they have hosted couples from other countries and taken them on a Canadian vacation (all expenses paid) in exchange for a vacation hosted and paid for by the couple in their own country. These exchanges have allowed each couple to experience other cultures at an intimate local level with the safety and security of being completely cared for by the hosts.

    Edmonton is the thriving capital city of Alberta. It is a short distance away from Jasper National park and the rocky mountains and various lakes for camping. It has a wonderful river valley with lots of biking trails and is known as festival city for the numerous activities that are going all during the summer. It is also the home of West Edmonton Mall, one of the world's largest shopping and entertainment malls. There are museums, heritage parks and theatres - always something to do.

    Currently, they are busy with an Inn that they have purchased in Ocean Falls, BC so they will not be spending a lot of time in Edmonton. Therefore, they are looking for 1 workawayer or possibly a couple to stay in their side of the house and take care of the yards / take in the mail while they are away. This would be an idea setup for someone who has a job in Edmonton.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Thank you for your interest, but we have found a workawayer for our house in Edmonton this year.
    _________________________________________________________________________

    Please also check out our workaway opportunities in Ocean Falls, BC for a completely different experience! Meals will be provided but we cannot work with specialized diets such as vegetarian or vegan. Liking seafood is a definite advantage!

    There is limited satellite internet but no cell service in Ocean Falls.

    Please note, that you MUST be a non-smoker to stay with us.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Bed, internet, full use of laundry facilities, etc.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Because of allergies, we request only non-smokers. Please do not ask to stay with us if you smoke anything at all.

    Also scented products like perfumes and other scented cosmetics cannot be used. All unscented toiletries are acceptable and encouraged :-)

    We have a very friendly and very shedding basset hound and smaller chihuahua cross that will be staying with us in Ocean Falls.

    We are hearty meat eaters, but since we will not be in Edmonton to provide your meals, your diet is your own business.:-)

    In case anyone is concerned about this, we are gay friendly and non-religious.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    From 1-5 hours per week














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 926331935855