Help us to start an organic food garden in Kandbari, India

Country

Indien

new host  

Bisher 10 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am Ira and live in a picturesque village at the foothills of the Dhauladhar mountains in India. Kand bari village is fast acquiring reputation for hosting many alternate thinking individuals, families and institutions. Construction on our mud/bamboo/stone house is just coming to an end and now we are planning to start landscaping and starting an organic food garden and a kitchen. My primary interests revolve around developing the landscape around our house to make it more productive not only for us but also for the community living around us. Besides that, it should also feel good aesthetically. We are also planning to start a kitchen where we intend to offer healthy food options like millets, fermented/malted food, raw food, junk free prepared food etc. This would cater to the people who live in the area and visitors. My husband, Rahul, has also just embarked on a food business wherein he is trying to create junk free offerings to customers. Finger millet biscuits are their first product which would be launched in September, 2019.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Visitors can stay with us and learn more about how we and our villagers live, cook, eat, farm, issues that the local farmers/gaddi tribals face, local festivals are fairs. This is an interesting place to explore nearby parts of the Dhauladhar mountains, attend courses/discussions at the Sambhaavnaa institute

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We invite people to volunteer with us on one or more of the following possibilities :

    1. Food garden: Ideation/planning/laying out (based upon permaculture principles), initiating organic compost/pesticide making, planting vegetables/fruit trees/herbs etc., landscaping, plastic waste management.

    2. Low cost outdoor kitchen: Planning the kitchen layout, helping with the construction, building a low cost rocket-stove fired oven, fuel efficient wood stove, helping develop/fine-tune recipes, developing marketing plan.

    3. Food enterprise: Streamlining production, storage and sales operations, marketing strategy, discovering and adapting new recipes/products esp. for raising nutrition levels, outreach with farmers for sourcing tie-ups and initiating organic farming, attending local fairs for promoting our products.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Hindi, English, Punjabi, Kangri.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation would involve shared room in our mud-bamboo house with a common bathroom. The room can easily accommodate upto 6 people, is airy, well lighted and has views of the nearby mountains and the valley. Food will involve simple meals with the family in our kitchen. We are trying our best to manage our plastic waste and would like volunteers to fully cooperate in this endeavour.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Kandbari is an interesting village with a number of beautiful walks among the pastures and the fields, a Himalayan stream (our regular haunt during summer afternoons) and treks to nearby mountain destinations. The quiet atmosphere and the clear air attracted us here. Though the village life is changing today with greater money inflow, it still has more desirables than otherwise. People are clearly hooked on to the market and the thoughtless products it throws at us but there is also an opportunity to promote alternatives that are healthful, sustainable and equitable.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 922419354283