Organic gardening and project support in an amazing historical farmhouse in Ponta Delgada, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 296 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.11.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1889

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 22 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We area young family of 4 (Joana, Jaime and two boys growing fast), and we have moved to the Azores in 2014 to run a sustainable tourism family business in Ponta Delgada. Our lodge is located in a 17th century farmhouse which has been recently refurbished. More than just runnning a business, our aim to have an inspiring project that will help tourists and locals to regard sustainable practises as part of their daily lives, and as such we have incorporated as many eco-techniques and demonstration areas as we could into our overall design. We have a range of organic gardens and orchards, a biological swimming pool, a reed bed system and renewable systems for water heating. We are passionate about our work and about gardening. We love travelling and meeting people and so we look forward to hosting travellers who can enjoy S. Miguel in exchange for awesome accommodation and a a bit of hard work in meaningful tasks!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will be in touch with local History and meet people from the Azores working on our team. There are ample opportunities to get to know the island and its extremely rich culture, Mostly, at the Quinta, our workawayers will learn about sustainable living and how to make a difference while running a (marginally) profitable business and keeping up with self-care and a healthy family life (worthy skills applicable anywhere!).

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    WE ONLY ACCEPT A MINIMUM OF TWO MONTHS´COMMITMENT FROM VOLUNTEERS - we don´t believe either side gets much out of the exerience otherwise.

    We mostly need help in the fruit, veg and herb gardens (such as planting, sowing, weeding, mulching, potting, doing cuttings, grass mowing, cleaning outbuildings or chicken shed, fruit and vegetable harvesting, tending the compost pile, etc....) and occasionally to help out on small building projects or house work on Sundays. There is a bunch of things to do that you can choose from, and discuss your preferences with Joana, who is the volunteer coordinator.

    Working hours are flexible and negotiable, but we do expect an average of 5 hours/day in a minimum of 5 out of each 7 days. We also provide breakfast and lunch on working days, but volunteers should be aware that they are expected to arrange some food for the evenings and weekends, and they are always welcome to use our farm products as complements to all their meals.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Portuguese, English, French, Spanish, Indonesian

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Lovely loft room with skylights, which you will most likely have to share (up to 2 people maximum), with access to a complete bathroom. We also have a great camping ground in an orange grove with compost toilets and outdoor showers (but camping volunteers only happen in emergencies, we would rather u are cosy indoors!).
    You get free wi-fi everywhere.
    We also provide breakfast and lunch on working days - which you should prepare yourself, but volunteers should be aware that they are expected to arrange some food for the evenings and weekends, to complement their free use ofour farm products.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a LOT to do in S. Miguel, and you will have the opportunity to hitch a ride with us or our guests whenever there is a chance. We may be able to drop you off in places too as we often need to go shopping or pick up plants or whatever. We have a spare tent and some camping gear so you can go exploring on your days off!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (we may prefer weekend help)

Seeds and cuttings by a mean team!
Nurturing even the invasive species :)
The kitchen herbs nursery
Tea Break
The main house, seen from the road
The natural swimming pond, on the day we sowed grass seed after levelling the surrounding area.
Weeding the broad beans & planting cabbage in- between.


















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 922174111641