Help develop a food forest on our magnificent land in the Serra da Estrela mountains, Guarda, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 18 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a retired couple living with some animal companions on a 10ha plot in Central Portugal. We came here at the end of 2019, after having decided to retreat from the consumerist lifestyle we were experiencing all around us in the UK, where we were living and working before. Our vision is to pursue a more sustainable and self sufficient way of life, while sharing the experience also with like-minded others.

    Having been here a year, we are now looking for some animal- and nature-loving human companions to share our vision and help with fairly substantial tasks to get things on track.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have no prior experience with permaculture, regenerative agriculture or food forest design (these practices are our aims) we are simply here, and trying to do stuff. We really like the idea of others joining us in working out how to do things, and are curious about the possibilities this might afford. Different people will bring totally different ideas to the place. We are reading broadly, and are in contact online with more experienced others and your being with us would mean accompanying us on our learning journey and in some ways shaping what this place becomes.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our aim is to create a beautiful edible garden that blends in with our natural forest surroundings and is capable of supporting human as well as non-human species. We are attempting to employ no-dig principles of regenerative agriculture. We are complete novices at this, however, so we are learning as we go along and any advice from more experienced others would be gratefully accepted! If you have ideas about permaculture, regenerative agriculture, or food forests we could really use your help in planning things. Right now, we urgently need help with manual tasks, like further clearing (especially alongside the river, which has not yet been done), some forest work, making a system of ponds along an existing water course (by enlarging existing ponds and digging new ones where the water has gone underground) and helping with small construction work, including the building of an outdoor bathroom and composting toilet and erecting fencing to keep the goat off the veggies. There is additionally a fair amount of reorganizing to do, as we try to make the interior of the house suitably habitable, by moving some heavy equipment in the workshop, currently upstairs, to the barn.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    While with us, you will have the sole use of a roomy horsebox lorry (1973 Bedford TK), converted into a campervan which sleeps 3. It has a double bed well as a large sleeping sofa. The Bedford lorry is situated about 200m from the house in a secluded glade of oak and cherry trees, and its access ramp doubles as an outdoor deck, that catches the morning sun.

    Kitchen facilities
    The Bedford is equipped with a small kitchen with gas cooker but no fridge as there is no electricity (solar still to be installed there). Cooking and cleaning utensils as well as gas for cooking are provided by us.

    Bathroom facilities
    There is piped spring water available near the Bedford and a private composting toilet for your use. Currently there is no bathroom or shower (building such facilities for the Bedford is one of our planned workawayer tasks).

    Internet facilities
    It is recommended that you bring your own power bank for phone charging, (this can be recharged at the farmhouse) and you would also need sufficient data from your phone provider as we do not offer Wi-fi. The phone signal at the Quinta is 4G but can be a little erratic.

    Meals
    We will provide one main communal meal (vegan) per day, at the farmhouse, which can be either a midday or evening meal, whichever is preferred. We have not yet begun to produce our own food, and are living on a shoestring budget, so the food we provide will be healthy but somewhat basic and plain. Apart from the main communal meal at the farmhouse, workaway volunteers are expected to cater for themselves by purchasing their own groceries and using the cooking facilities in the Bedford. We can collect groceries for you (or you can accompany us) on our once-weekly supply trip (either to Guarda or to the small town Belmonte, both of which are 20 mins away by car.

    Parking
    Due to the steepness of the land, we have very limited parking facilities, so if you have a car, you would need to park it at the top of the 200m long driveway.

    Social time
    As a couple we are somewhat reclusive and enjoy time alone in our own space. We therefore request that workaway volunteers do not use the farmhouse, which is our only private space, as their base. Apart from the shared main meal, time spent at the farmhouse is normally by invitation.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We primarily offer a peaceful place for people to come and do something a bit different than normal. The place is pretty isolated, so you’d have to like the peace and quiet of a fairly solitary (except for us) existence while here. The area we live in is picturesque, with broadleaf forest, some open spaces, massive granite boulders, mountain streams and pools, and an abundance of granite ruins. Visible from the house is an array of giant wind turbines which have a beauty and elegance all of their own. There is a river beach fairly close by (on the Zezere river in the town of Valhelhas) which is dog friendly and also has a restaurant and bar. It’s about 15 mins away by car. Our tiny village, Famalicão, is half an hour away walking (it has a small grocery shop, 3 bars, 2 bakeries and a pharmacy), and the historic and beautiful city of Guarda is 20 mins away by car (an alternative to going to the town of Belmonte, where we normally get our groceries). From Guarda there are bus and rail routes to anywhere else in Portugal.

    We are more than happy to collect you from the train station in Guarda when you arrive.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Any animals are welcome as long as they are friendly towards our own dogs, cats, chickens and goat.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Flexible.. about 20 hours a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 911142524329