Learn about natural building on our homestead in Warner, New Hampshire, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 33 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our names are Bret and Kristin. After many years traveling, care taking, teaching abroad, and even a couple workaway experiences, we have moved back to the small rural town of Warner NH. We decided to return here for a handful of reasons including: more time in the natural environment, having open space to farm, helping our parents age in place, being able to make change more directly and effectively.

    The family land we steward, former Abenaki territory, is pretty remote mixed deciduous forest. Behind the our yurts is the "Mink Hills" 14 thousand continuous acres of forest, super fun to explore.

    When we first moved back here we spent 5 years living in the yurts in the woods, setting them up as a comfortable off-grid homestead, then we moved into our current home and recently began building our "dream eco arc" this past year. It is on this home building project that we are mainly looking for help. Completing aspects of the natural building components of the house, namely earthen plaster on the straw bale walls.

    In addition to that there are orchards and gardens to maintain, cordwood and stone wall to stack, earthen roof systems to build and the plethora of other tasks of a small permaculture homestead tucked in the woods.

    One cool thing about our location is although it is on the edge of "wilderness" we are also only 2 miles from the village center of Warner, which is a pretty cool place with a coffee shop, independent bookstore, a small food cooperative, a community outdoor amphitheater, ice cream shop, a small bar, a public library, a couple museums, an elementary school, and more. Warner is also home to the Kearsarge mountain state park and the Warner river. There is a growing and thriving young agriculture community here and a lot of exciting cooperative projects. We feel it is a wonderful place for people that like the woods, quiet and small community.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will have plenty of time to explore the woods, rivers, walking trails and nature around the yurts and build site. Near by with a car there are all sorts of outdoor enthusiasts adventures from kayaking to rock climbing, hiking to mountain biking. Also this is a great place to experience the peace and quiet reflection only found with time alone in the woods.

    Also you will get first hand experience in off grid living and systems. Campfires can be had most any night and depending on the season lots of fresh produce from the gardens. Normally we fire up the cordwood masonry sauna every other week. In town there are free outdoor concerts, author series, workshops and other interesting events.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Mainly at the moment we are looking for help with cob and earthen plaster portions of the home right now and beyond that there are many cool permaculture and homestead projects abound. . No previous experience necessary but a willingness to learn and help. The help will likely be from 9-2, 4 to 5 days a week.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I don't get to practice my Spanish as much as I'd like too. My wife and I also taught English to refugees for awhile s happy to help others with their English if you want.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accommodations are basic but comfortable. They are comprised of two yurts connected by a handmade screened in porch. One yurt is a bedroom and the other is a kitchen. The kitchen has a propane fridge, a small propane range, a wood cook stove, and a gravity rain water system. There is a simple composting toilet outhouse and a solar panel for some limited lighting. Both have woodstoves for heat, cordwood is available.

    While we love and plan on sharing some meals, mostly you will be on your own preparing food with basic vegetarian ingredients provided. We do have an arrangement with the local food cooperative in the village for you to get a 10% discount as well. Depending on the season there is a lot of food in the garden you are also welcome too. The yurts have all you will need to cook and we cover the propane and provide drinking water too. The yurts are a short walk through the woods and hay field to the building site.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A vehicle is encouraged, especially for longer stays, although not 100% necessary. Unfortunately there is very little public transportation to our area. As the site is remote it has worked best in the past when a couple comes, either friends or partners, otherwise it can feel a little too isolated and lonely.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    No hook ups on site but you could camp with your camper van at the building site

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have a dog and so do my parents who live near by. So if you have a dog it would probably only work if you trusted them off leash and they should get along well with other dogs. Our dog Rina is a rescue and thinks she is a real Alpha, she has never been physically aggressive to another dog but she wants dominance and can be a bully. We think we've noticed she does better with male dogs rather then other females. Generally she works it out if humans stay out of the way but it can be stressful. So with that all said if your game to give it a try so are we but ya never know with dogs.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 895863762977