Mountains near Denver, Colorado, USA : Enjoy the views

Country

USA

Bisher 118 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    31.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 13 Tage

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I'm 61 yrs old and active, living on an open mountainside (elevation only about 2000 metres) about 55 miles NW of Denver, Colorado. I'm just now (late May 2019) opening up my hosting profile after a year and a half closed while my life was changing!

    The closest town is Lyons, with more music and art than most small towns. Only about 2,000 people. I'm a non-smoker, as are you. I've got a lively sense of humor and great reverence for the natural world. June 10-20 would be a LOVELY time to have a Workawayer. If you read the reviews they are largely about the dog boarding business, but I no longer am doing that, as I'm fixing up the house and cleaning up the outdoors of overgrown greenery and maybe doing a little planting of something the deer and rabbits won't eat, or fencing it in.

    The house is on the market for sale, so I can sell almost everything I own and travel the world like you are doing! Soon I will be the Workaway volunteer in many different countries myself! Because of other obligations June 10-20 are the only dates in June that I can host. Please do not contact me unless you are 100% reliable about showing up when you say you will. Basic respect, as I will in turn show you in gratitude as well. I am driving Uber to pay the bills these days, until the house sells and I go off traveling.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I love helping people with their English skills, with falling in love with Colorado and with their travel needs. Some of the most fun can be learning American slang and idioms--the actual use of the language, not just the academics. Sharing cooking styles and skills is welcome, This is a great place to decompress--to leave the fast life of the city behind for a spell. If you have spent your life in a densely-populated place the long views and wide open spaces will blow your mind.

    I'm a good resource person to talk about all sorts of needs and I LOVE conversations about Life and how we came to be who and where we are. Also, my location requires hosting people who enjoy solitude and natural beauty. It's not a match for someone who gets cabin fever easily and is needing to go to town all the time. Of course you have more choices if you have a car.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    A sense of humor and comfort spending time sometimes alone are important.

    I want to enjoy our time together, so I can host people who follow through with attention to detail in their work. What will make this a wonderful experience for you? When you contact me with a personally written inquiry(not a generic inquiry going to others) and your PHONE NUMBER so we can chat I'll follow right up. Let's talk together enough to know if we're a good fit with one another, or we can FaceTime. This is a fragrance-free house, so no incense, perfume, strongly-scented personal care products, etc. Thank you.

    I ask for 20 hrs/week of help(not counting when we cook our own food together) and I provide yummy, quality groceries and some fun outings on occasion, depending on your work ethic. So I hope :-) we have reason to go on great outings!! I eat a fair bit of organics, but not entirely organic due to cost. I do eat some meat in modest amounts and we can work out a vegetarian diet if needed. Please be UP FRONT about your needs and dislikes at the start when we talk, not telling me you eat everything, then throw away great food later. Please, no picky eaters.

    There's no place for sloppy work or laziness here. Life is short and I really want to host helpers i don't need to micromanage. It's SO MUCH MORE FUN to host folks with a strong work ethic to begin with, so we can spend our time and energy on enjoyable things! *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️I'm fine with alcohol in moderation but if you drink heavily or if you smoke don't inquire here. Getting high is legal in Colorado, but not okay while working. I don't care what you smoke or eat away from home if you're sober while here.

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️Please arrive with a clear photocopy of your passport or U.S. Driver's license for me to keep, so I don't need to ask for it. Thank you!!!!!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Only English, darnit. A wee bit of German and even less French.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Single mattress on the floor in a private room. The second bed has already been sold. Sorry. Lots of choice around what you like in pillows and covers. Small dresser/three drawers and a closet to hang things. Desk space. Medium-speed internet. If you spend a lot of time online doing high-bandwidth activities we'll run out of bandwidth.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Because the house is on the market for sale we need to keep it ready to occasionally be shown. I've been a host for years on HelpX and a lovely woman I hosted 3x in 2015 more recently suggested I join WorkAway, too. Some of my visitors from HelpX have become friends. It's so lovely to connect and make it an ever-smaller world!

    There's great hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park, less than an hour away. Great mountain biking and some hiking trails much closer, around Lyons, but I don't have mountain bikes myself. White-water kayaking in the town close by in spring to mid-summer. There's no public transportation from my home in the mountains, but from the town of Lyons there's a bus to Boulder on weekdays. Outdoor concerts some nights in summer. The whole area is full of rock climbers, too. The fun and challenging things to do in Boulder are LIMITLESS. It's a 40 minute drive from my house to downtown Boulder.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Twenty hours a week of actual work, not including us cooking our own yummy meals together.





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 893275512141