1 / 5

Come and help me, and two horses, on my little farm in Grimeton, Sweden

  • Schweden
  • Bisher 78 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 29 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    On this beautiful little spot on earth lives a woman (57), 3 horses and 2 cats.
    25min from Kallbadhuset (see one of the photos) and the fortress in the town of Varberg, about 1hr from Gothenburg, and a 15min walk through the forest to the lake Skärsjön.

    The oldest part of the house was built more than 130 years ago, the bathroom only 6 years ago. Its almost 2 years since I came here and started transforming the place into a horse friendly farm. Not farm in the sense that there is any production here, other than growing some herbs and vegetables, but in the sense of land with housing suitable for horses - mainly fencing fields and building sheds.
    Back in time I worked both with TV production, journalism, social work, and for a short while as a therapist. My main occupation nowadays is to find my way to build a stronger health, as I have had struggles with my body for a long time. So, you will not see me running around, I keep a slow pace and rest when I need to. This is why I need a workaway who is able, and willing, to help with a bit heavier stuff - like building fences. I can not do that on my own.

    I have been lucky enough to have two girls coming here about two days a week for a while, they asked if they could come whenever they had time available and felt like it, and I really enjoyed having them here. It made me realize that I also like doing projects together, I hade almost forgotten - as I have been on my own for a long time.

    Welcoming someone through workaway is something I am looking forward to, it feels a bit like I get to stay home with my animals and travel at the same time. At least, thats what I imagine. Let the journey begin!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I have lived in Sweden for some years now, but I am a norwegian living in Sweden - so it will be more of a scandinavian cultural exchange than a pure swedish one.. I travelled alone backpacking when I was young, but I have no experience of workaway. I am looking forward to having the opportunity to be a host. Here is also a good opportunity to learn about horses.

  • Arbeit


    Maintenance tasks, horse related shores as mucking, feeding, watering, work with saddle chamber, fences - building new, and rebuilding some, some other carpentry, cutting bushes and small trees, graveling, maybe a little gardening if you like to, help in the house. Maybe even help me clean up my farm car - it shows that I use it for about anything around here..

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend
    Swedish: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I spoke some spanish when I was traveling around Mexico many years ago, and french when I went to school in Cannes when was young. I would love to refresh those languages, if possible. Also stayed a couple of months in Germany as a young person, so I do understand some german - but, I do not speak the language.

  • Unterkunft


    You get a room with a view, bed, desk, and sofa, and we share bathroom, kitchen and living room.
    I will make breakfast every morning, lunch and dinner we plan together.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Beautiful hiking right outside the farm. No public transport - but, I have a car and can take you to some of the local sights, drive you to the train station etc. If you have the right drivers license, you can also use my car sometimes. You will pay for fuel used, and eventual parking fees (most parking in Varberg is free as long as you follow the signs). I also have a bike, but it is quite a lot of hills here - so be prepared to work those legs ;) Varbergs is a small town with easy access to a long coastline. The most nearby sight from my farm is World Heritage Grimeton Radio station, and it is less than half an hour to Ästad winery and SPA. I live a quiet life myself, so If you enjoy nature, peace and quiet, reading, being with animals, and honest conversations, this might be the perfect place for you. You can also join me and the horses for walks in the woods, come for a swim in the lake during the summer season, and winter swims in the ocean - with sauna - autumn, winter, and spring. When the weather permits it I have a very nice space suitable tor yoga right outside your room here.

    The ceilings are not high, so the house is best suited for people under 180cm.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 877749463152

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder


Live near a small lake in the heart of Södermanland, close to Stockholm, Sweden
Join us in the beautiful nature in Swedish Lapland, Sweden