Southern charm and country fun with animals and music close to New Orleans and Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA




Bisher 147 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    97.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    You will find our family and community to be full of Southern charm and country fun. The house has a casual feel and host family gatherings that are full of unique local foods like: gumbo, crawfish, bar-b-que, jambalaya, hamburgers, and sweet tea. We welcome you to join our friends an family in colorful family stories and general conversations on the porch swing or around the camp fire. Our property includes a vegetable garden and the following animals: horses (trained for western speed events and trails,) two small dogs (mini Australian Shepherd & Corgi/ Jack Russell), two cats ( friendly barn cats.) We live in an old family home with an acre of land. Down our street lives many of our extended family, including both sets of grandparents. We feel blessed to have them in our daily lives and hope you do also.

    We are a family of 10+ but only three people live in our home. Trent is the man of the house and loves to relax outside with an evening beer and some good music. He works for our city and is also a lead singer and guitar player in a Southern Rock/ Country band. He plays his music at local night clubs and festivals. He also loves to hunt, fish and ride his ATV or trucks. Our youngest child is an athletic All-American girl who is a true extrovert. She hates when our house is empty. Most of her free time is spent at school sport events, soccer practice or riding horses. My name Deanna I love nature, hikes, camping, and exploring cities and towns. I once dreamed of being in the Peace Core or adopting orphans but neither happened. I have found happiness in doing volunteer work locally and in Mexico, gardening, and learning new skills. I currently work with special needs children teaching and supporting them emotionally.

    Outside our home lives our two grown children with spouses, and three grandchildren and two more on the way. We have a few extra children who started as exchange students and now are family. We are not part of the exchange program this year because local high school did not allow the program due to COVID. Workaway is a new adventure for us and we have hosted four guest so far.

    Our workaway home is in a suburban community 45min from New Orleans and 30min from Baton Rouge the home is quite during the day which allows for online studies and independent exploration by Uber or your personal transportation. The evenings are spent enjoying life with our friends, family, or animals along with going house chores. Most weeks include small social gathering or cultural events. We are a busy bunch so get ready to live a new life.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Experience southern USA while learning/ improve skills in: gardening, composting, animal care, hunting, ATV operation, soccer, teaching, horseback riding, Southern/ Cajun cooking, tent camping, fishing, Southern slang/ English language, country music band, elderly care, life hacks, party planning, etc.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    **Last minute need *We have a elderly companionship need (2hours a day) for the month of May. if you can help in this way please message.

    We will provide the setting and ask that you provide a plan of how you can contribute to our family 5 hr a day or 25 hours a week. Your work should be a balance of tasks and more can be done on one day to have more time off on others for example:

    2 hours of home cleaning/ cooking
    1 hours of farm tasks
    2 hour of elderly assistance and/ or engagement

    Example of tasks: share life experiences/ culture/ companionship, cook or help prepare dinner, weed home/ community vegetable garden or flower beds, exercise / ride horses, read to preschool children, talk / eat with grandparents, bath dogs, sweep house/barn, feed homeless, and helping in a community food bank. It is important that you feel as family and work both as a team and independently to make life better for all members of the home. Your talents and life goals can be discussed before arrival and we can work together to create activity plan for your trip. We ask that you contribute 5 hours a day to the family or community and believe the more you do the more rewarding the experience will be.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I would love to learn a few words in your language, but pronunciation of new words is not something I master easily. Be prepared to laugh some as I try. Feel free to coach me by saying good morning in your native language and helping me learn the proper response.

  • Unterkunft


    A private bed room and shared bathroom are provided in a four bedroom home located in a suburban village with large outdoor space for exercise and relaxing. Guest are encouraged to use family areas (kitchen, dinning room, living room) alone and with the family.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our home has WI-Fi and you can attend online classes, attend local universities, sight see, or work. Uber can be utilized and we have a car that can be used occasionally by insured drivers . With extended stays we would enjoy showing you New Orleans and Baton rouge along with neighboring states. In 2022 we plan to visit Florida, Mississippi, Texas, Alabama, Tennessee, Georgia, and California. We enjoy attending local festivals, music, and sporting events, along with attending family, church, and high school activities.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 875899839427