Help out with our olive harvest in Campofiorito, Sicily, Italy

  • Italien
  • Bisher 656 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 30 Nov. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    I'm hosting volunteers only in March 2024 & October/November 2024.

    Next occassion olive tree pruning = 1 week in march 2024. need also help for cooking and household work.
    from Saturday March 09 th - Saturday 16.03.2024

    Olive harvest = date tbd. October/November 2024
    Regular arrival is on Saturday by public bus transportation from Palermo app. 1,5 hours duration and depature is the next Saturday.
    One week in order to give as many volunteers as possible the chance to do this experience.

    No separate bedroom or exclusively bedroom for couples available. Sorry!

    Hello, my name is Pietro and I live and work in germany close to Frankfurt am Main and I travel 2-3x during the year to sicily to my olive grove of my ancestors in order to continue in the fourth generation to cultivate, manage the olive harvest in october and pruning work in march.
    I'm looking for motivated and capable volunteers to help and support me harvesting & pruning olive trees in sicily and make a nice and friendly experience with my project "olive grove".

    Since 2020 I hosted app. 60 international volunteers and made several nice and positive experiences.

    During this experience you will join other workawayers from all over the world and make also friendships, connections and cultural exchanges & experience.

    You will spend most of the work time on the olive farm and the other work time is splitted between cooking and house chores.

    Believe me that the harvest work is physically challenging because harvesting olives is a manual work and physically demanding and not everybody is capable to do it.

    The expectation is that volunteers are motivated and are willing physically ready to work together in a team and help and support each other.

    The accommodation is in my private house and we prepare and cook our own vegetarian food & meals after the work.

    If harvest or pruning is not possible due to weather condition e.g. raining everybody helps out for doings things in the household e g. put & staple the fire food, cleaning rooms, cleaning bathrooms, kitchen & dishes, cutting & removing dorns and weeds or other plants around the house or at the olive grove, bringing/moving the firewood to the fireplace (living room) and prepare it for the evenings.
    Painting work, repairing damaged fences or fixing new fences and also repair different stuff or something around the house or the olive grove.

    A motivated team with working spirit and harmony will be an unforgettable memory for each participant. Finally after this experience every participant who joined understand how effort is needed to produce an organic olive oil and how it should smell & taste. Conversation and cultural exchanges during the day and work during your stay is highly appreciated.

    Date: March 2024 & October 2024
    Region = Sicily (Italy)
    City = Campofiorito ( close to Corleone )

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Participate and be part of this international team event in order to see, explore and understand a how a natural olive grove is producing very good and healthy italian organic olive oil.
    You are free to explore the area in the town in your free time.

    We will visit only in october and the end of the harvest the olive oil mill in the neighbourtown. Permission of the owner of the mill need to be given.

    Sightseeing in the town of Campofiorito on sunday could be offered if there is interest and in addition get in contact with local Sicilian people, food, culture

  • Arbeit


    Manual olive harvest with electric tools / picking olives / lay and move large tends on the ground / remove & lift tends and put olives in baskets and jute bags or other receipients / lift baskets and jute bags / prepare lunch & dinner together

    Pruning olive trees only in march / cut small branches by hand with garden scissors / saw wood pieces and move and carry small pieces of wood to a wood pile / move branches in a row for later mechanical chipping

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I'd like to share my italian and german language. My Italian is fluent

  • Unterkunft


    Private House with 3x bedrooms and shared bathroom WC /shower for 4-5 person. I offer overnight stay in a bedroom (4×) in my private house and I offer a small italian breakfast included with fresh coffee, milk, oat milk, butter, marmelade, confitüre, local bread, Haferflocken, oatmeal, cornflakes).

    Special requests like Nutella, vegan stuff, cookies, yogurt, peanut butter, snacks, chocolate bars need to be procured and bought by workawayers.
    No availability of Glutine free ingredients and need to be procured by volunteers.

    A small vegetarian lunch is prepared by the volunteers and the lunch break will take place in the nature olive grove and the vegetarian dinner is cooked late afternoon/early evening by the volunteers.
    The procurement of the ingredients of the meals & food is done by myself.

    Tap water or Natural water from a natural water source is available at the house.

    Expenses for extra beverages like Coca-Cola, Pepsi, lemonade, juices, beer, wine and others stuff need to be covered by volunteers and volunteers can buy this extra beverages by their own in the small shops in the town.

    Special or specific requests of food is not considered by the host and volunteers are free to buy with their own budget & expenses in the different small supermarket what each individual need.

    I do not cover expenses for gluten free food or ingredients. Gluten free ingredients and food needs to be procured and bought by the volunteers.

    I do not have WLAN in my house.

    No heating in the house available, but a nice and warmly fireplace inside in the big living room.

    Possibilty of sleeping in a small tent in the basement or outside in front of the house in tents brought by volunteers is possibile.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Public bus transportation from Palermo main rail way central station to Campofiorito is given. During your time off you can visit the town and do some shopping in the small supermarkets and get a drink or coffee in the local bar.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 868325348324

Feedback (14)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (4.9)

Experience slow-life surrounded by stunning nature in Piedmont, Italy
Join us and teach English to our son in Pesaro, on the Adriatic coast, Italy