Help us build our dream home. Converting a barn in rural Somerset, UK.

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 91 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    74.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a very young married couple in our late 50's living in an old Somerset farmhouse. Our two grown up children have flown the nest and we are embarking on a fantastic building project. We are going to convert the old farm buildings adjacent to our house into a house together with 2 further annexes. Although not 'Passivhaus' we hope to get as close to that standard as possible using a lot of cutting edge and some not so cutting edge green technology such as limecrete floors, recycled newspaper insulation and a ground source heat pump. The scheme has been designed by my son, Theo, who has nearly completed his training as an architect.

    I spent 25 years as a carpenter and joiner and more recently as an aerospace engineer. I am very 'hands on' and would always much rather do something myself than get someone else to do it. I have given up work in order to devote myself full time to this very ambitious project.

    My wife, Pip, is an interior designer and decorator and will also be heavily involved in the project.

    We have been hosts for the last 5 years with another online rental platform and have always enjoyed having new and interesting people staying with us.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a very rural part of Somerset with much of the local economy and our neighbours being centered around agriculture. We are very close to Glastonbury and all that that entails. We love the natural world and walking and always try to show our guests as much of this as possible. We love tennis (we have a grass court), bridge, cinema and reading. Our guests will always be encouraged to join in whatever we happen to be doing.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    More than anything I am looking for people with an enthusiasm for building things. You will be asked to carry out all sorts of skilled and unskilled construction tasks. The help will sometimes be tedious, sometimes hard but always rewarding. I will give appropriate training for each task. An aptitude for these type of tasks is essential and some experience preferable.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English & French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will live with us as part of the family sharing our food and our fun. You will have a small private bedroom and the use of a bathroom which will generally be for you only unless we have other guests staying. You can use any part of the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Night life, as with most rural locations can be a bit limited. There are plenty of excellent pubs nearby and a couple of nightclubs within 14 miles. There are lots of sports facilities in Somerton and Millfield school with it's amazing sports campus is just up the road. You will be especially encouraged to join us for the local 'bootcamp' a couple of times a week. Glastonbury is full of hippies, crystals and copies of Arthur's sword if that's your thing.

    If you can drive and you are over 25 you may be able to have the use of a car.

    We are very easy going, tolerant and we love cultural diversity in all it's forms. We enjoy hard work and hard relaxation.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 866469413711