Eco project in an authentic mountain village in the Himalayas, India



Bisher 929 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung


    *IMMEDIATE POSITIONS AVAILABLE FOR for a full stack developer with modern UI experience for our new digital concept. Contact for more details.*

    Have an immersive cultural experience in a traditional mountain village at almost 8,000ft only a few km from Manali and participate in one of our exciting projects like building geodesic domes & earthbag dwellings, carpentry, welding, permaculture, landscaping, electrical, plumbing, and more!

    We have an excellent workshop with modern tools, for more details so lower in the description.

    # Full stack developer with experience building ui libraries to help us build a design system that will support a number of future projects that we intend to use for running our project and operations more efficiently.

    During the pandemic we have also started training some young people (around 20 years age) in design and ui engineering to empower these boys from our village. Here also we would like you to help by training our students in your areas of expertise.

    For a list of active and upcoming projects scroll down to the “Help” section!

    For more pictures/videos or information, please send us a message.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our project is located at one of the most beautiful locations in the Manali Valley and is elevated 1500ft above the valley giving a spectacular view at a hight of 8000ft. There aren't many outsiders in this village apart from us. With a population of around 300 people, their mountain life and culture has been preserved and guarantees an authentic and meaningful experience.

    During your stay you have the opportunity to learn many new skills in areas such as carpentry, gardening, landscaping, welding, (Indian) cooking, and there is plenty of room to develop and contribute your own creative ideas and maybe even bring them to life. We are always open to your ideas!

    We have a core team of 6 people of all ages and a regular inflow of volunteers and travelers. Our experience is that people have loved spending time with us and enjoyed a nice balance between project work and fun activities such as trekking, paragliding, enjoying nature and meeting like-minded people.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Apart from taking part in the daily chores we always have interesting projects going on. We strive to keep the projects in this list up to date but contact us in case you're looking for something specific!

    We have many exciting things going on in our eco project all the time. We're currently building 2 geodesic domes, an earthbag dwelling, we're about to start building a small earthship. We're also preparing about half an acre of land for a permaculture/food forest garden for which we need a long term volunteer who can help us design and sort of lead this project. Apart from this we're building furnitures with wood and metal in our fully and professionally equipped wood and metal workshop. We are very passionate about food and we have a fully equipped professional kitchen where we try to push the boundaries of healthy and tasty food for our team every day. So experienced cooks or chefs are always welcome.

    Currently we have the following active projects [updated May 30th 2019]:

    [long term opportunity] ... we are looking for someone who is interested to stay with us from end feb for at least 2 months and help Mary with one of the most important tasks: food, shopping, housekeeping, etc.

    [Carpentry] … All kinds of interior wood works like wardrobes, shelves, lamps, seating for our geodesic domes.

    [Welding] … a variety of small projects mostly interior related, combination of metal and wood. Even someone who is keen to learn but generally handy can apply and work along with me.

    [Landscaping] … Groundwork of landscaping the land around our geodesic domes: basic infrastructure, pathways, levelling land, preparing land for planting.

    [Content writing and photography ] … Native English speaker who can help us with content and/or photography. We try to keep documenting our project and we’ll soon need some more material to show the world what we are up to. [ref: DM01 … In case you apply for this position, minimum stay is a month but 6-8 weeks is preferred, please give references to your work in the application along with relevant experience]

    [Home schooling] ... we are looking for someone who is passionate about working with kids (our son just turned 4 in December). We are not particularly interested in classroom / curriculum based education but rather expose him to all kinds of things through people with knowledge and skills but primarily passion for what they do. The activities can also include learning creative skills like drawing, painting, working with material, just conversations, walks in nature but also language skills in different languages (currently he is exposed to English, Dutch, Hindi primarily).

    [Cheese making - experienced volunteer] … We would like to learn more about producing soft & harder cheeses. We have no experience with hard cheese and would like to explore the possibility of starting our cheese production with the help of one or more volunteers. Contact us to discuss the possibility.

    We strongly believe that people are at their best when working on the things they like. For that reason we try to let people chose in which activities they would like to participate as we usually have a bunch of things going on. Besides this you will help out with all other daily tasks that require some help.

    We don’t follow any strict work timings, but people are generally busy between 10am and 6pm. We take plenty of breaks and there is lots of fun during work hours. Volunteers will experience a healthy balance between work and free time. We are not really looking at a specific number of hours per day but we’re more task oriented. This means for example that you may work for two whole days building domes but go trekking on the day after on a free day.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Afrikaans: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Hindi: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Shared accommodation: we currently have a private bedroom with an eagles view over the valley along with 2 shared bathrooms and a kitchen. We generally don’t have more than 1-2 volunteers at a time and we provide individual beds, bed sheets, pillows and blankets for each person. You will occasionally be sharing the sleeping spaces with one of our team members or other volunteers.

    # Local home made food
    We are passionate about good and healthy food. Although we aren’t vegetarians, for practical reasons we mainly eat vegetarian food. We have a dedicated person looking after the cooking and we serve 3 delicious meals a day.

    From experience we have learned it's difficult to accommodate a vegan or gluten free diet, partly due to the heavy use of dairy in Indian cuisine, cooking your own individual meals is not an option because we have a very busy kitchen. If you can accomodate with vegetarian food

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Transportation: we are located a few km from the Manali bus stand. You can reach us usually by taxi in about 30 minutes from the bus station.

    # Surroundings and activities

    While living in the mountains is a wonderful thing, it comes along with some natural challenges. Weather conditions are something to keep in mind, so if you’re particularly fond of rain, monsoon might be the time for you!

    The mountains surrounding our village are quite unique and untouched, beautiful areas waiting to be explored. There are 1 and 2 day treks that can be done from here including some nice forest, waterfalls, lakes and spectacular views going all the way up to around 4000m/12,000ft.

    We are just a few km away from the famous hot springs of Vashisth.

    If you’re looking for something more adventurous, we have a private paragliding take off site in our village (operated by our friends from the village) and instructors to take you for a tandem flight.

    In the winter time a good amount of snow can be enjoyed and many of the folks here trek up the mountain for a freestyle ride. Beginners can take the gondola to the slopes from a nearby village called Solang.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    4-5 hours a day on average depending on the work at hand and weather, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 865444856656