Looking for an extra two hands in the countryside of Chapelle Voland, France




Bisher 178 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    At the moment I am alone, so i would be very happy to welcome a helper. I have a small farm, all types of help is needed, like feeding my special geese and ducks (for pleasure not to be eaten), my swans, peacocks and goats, renovating the baking house.

    Who am I? I am Swiss but I live in France since 2002. My house is right out in the country, 375 km south of Paris, 150 km north of Lyon. The nearest small town with a super market is 12 km away, though there is a small store in the village, if one forgets something. Summers are quite hot. In winter we rarely have snow, though it can get well below zero.

    Unfortunately in winter everything is shut. Here just an idea what can be seen in the warmer seasons. There are several caves to visit in the neighborhood, the best I find are at Moidon and at Baumes-les-Messieurs. The latter has a nice cascade and picnic place and a convent. A pleasant walk through Chateau-Chalon gives you either fantastic views over vineyards or you can taste some good vines. Then there is the museum in the castle at Pierre de Bresse, the visit to the salt museum and of course most important a visit to Beaune with its old hospice from the middle ages. These are just a few of the places to visit. The surrounding area you can explore on the bicycle that is waiting for you in the garage.

    I am still very fit though I am not young anymore. I have a small farm house, which still needs a bit of renovating. Unfortunately my dear partner died two years ago, so I live alone, but I do have someone who comes in the afternoons to help with the heavy work. We have finished renovating the sitting room. Now we are onto the baking house.

    I raise geese, ducks, pheasants, all for pleasure not for eating. I also have some cattle, Scottish Highland or Kyloe, a mother with her 6 months old baby. I also have 4 cats and 2 dwarf goats.

    The work is very varied, helping with the animals, planting, weeding, helping with preparing wood or renovating jobs.
    Incredible, what a difference two extra hands and a few hours help daily make. While I had a workaway, I never had any problems. We managed to get the most urgent work done and even had time for outings. Since I am alone I have been very lucky with my helpers. I have enjoyed their company very much indeed, and I do hope someone will come again soon. It is not much fun to be alone. I can accommodate workaways practically all the year through.

    I like workaways to stay for at least 2-3 weeks, as it takes some time to know the different work. And of course I have to explain everything again to each newcomer. I was lucky to have one workaway staying for 5 months (with her small daughter) and another one stayed for 4 months.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    They can practise French, English or German. They can learn raising animals.

  • Arbeit


    The tasks are very varied, just whatever needs doing most urgently. At the moment it is a lot of garden work. It might also include helping with housework.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    German, English, French

  • Unterkunft


    Double bedroom and bathroom

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I live out in the country. The volunteer will be my companion and will be taken along on outings, to be able to see something of the area. There are no public buses. There are various caves to visit, and Beaune, Dôle, Lyon, Besançon are within reach. Of course in winter most of the sightseeing places are shut. If the volunteer has a driving licence, there is the possibility to occasionally use my car. A bicycle is at the disposal to our volunteer.
    As it takes quite a while to know exactly what has to be done with the animals, I prefer it, if helpers can stay at least 2 weeks or more.

    In summer there are flee markets and concerts in many of the surrounding villages. Of course I am prepared to drive my helpers there.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    depending on weather

Hawaii geese are very friendly
Our pigmy goats Sirta and Paddy
Fresh salad is delicious
A few hours old
Uncommon friends - our cat Pasha and hen Lisa

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 836162278695