Help building an off-grid homestead in the midst of Transilvanian nature, Romania

Country

Rumänien

Bisher 101 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello!
    We are Eli and Ali, a Swiss couple with four young (6 months, 3, 6 and almost 9) Kids.
    We have moved to our 3.6ha property in Romania about three years ago after travelling Europe for 3 years previous.

    We are situated 2km of dirt-track away from the next village and are completely off-grid.
    Step by step we are building our dream of a self-sufficient permaculture homestead.
    The life we chose isn't always easy and we still have a long way to go and a lot more to learn, but we are very motivated to do so because we are convinced that there are so many ways of improving the harmony and living more sustainable and in peace with earth and eachother.

    We have great plans and ideas for our property and we hope to find some awesome, likeminded helpers who enjoy the peace and quiet and the beauty of our wild surroundings!

    We are unschoolers (free learners / life learners) and love to learn by doing and experimenting. We live in a tiny old house with an old stable next to it. We have a garden, grow all our crops from seeds and are constantly working on expanding our growing space and creating more bio-diversity.
    We've planted over 50 fruit trees last autumn, which are the basis of our food-forest, which we hope to develope further in 2022.
    We are passionate about sustainable, holistic, healthy and natural living, preserving food, different hand-crafts, natural building, living with animals and learning in general.
    We are vegetarians and currently share our land with many furry and feathery creatures who provide us with eggs, milk and manure but who are also our companions and teachers.

    Our property lies nestled in the hills of Transilvania and is surrounded by old, partially overgrown orchards. If you walk over the higher hills south of our property, you get into the natural park Gradistea Muncelului in which there are ruins of ancient Dacian settlements, so there is plenty of interesting places to discover.

    We have a small solar system to charge our phones, laptop and use other small devices, for bigger machines, we use a generator.
    We live VERY simply, close to nature and without most of modern conveniencies: We use a composting toilet (bucket system), usually shower outside with cold water - there is a solar camping shower for those who want warm water and have the patience to wait for it - our water comes from a source above our property, though it dries out at times (but there are other sources in the area, where we can get drinking water from), we have no fridge or freezer, our washingmashine runs on cold water and we use our phones for internet access.

    We hope to build a small (loose) community with likeminded people and families in this area in the future, for now it is only us.

    Except from the existing old (tiny) house and stable, we are building our homestead completely from scratch. Some days we work a lot, others we are not so productive. We have a bit of a daily rythm because of our animals but otherwise we mostly decide spontaneously on what we want to do, even though our to-do lists are set to last a few years. ;-D

    We are pretty new to workaway and we are excited to meet wonderful people and families here, learn and work together and enjoy the beauty of this place together!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are constantly learning new things and invite you to learn with us!

    From our first three years of being here, we have gathered knowledge about various homesteading skills. Some examples are: (No-dig & inground) gardening, living off-grid, animal husbandry, preserving food in different ways without refrigeration.
    There are so many things we want to learn about. Some, we are just getting started with, some, we can already share knowledge about - our interests are very wide spread, but we are big on exploring true human potential and self-reliance but we also love to share philosophical/spiritual thoughts about pretty much everything existing in this world and universe.

    We speak Swiss-German, German, English, a tiny bit of French (though it's rather bad at the moment) and are (slowly!) learning Romanian.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The main jobs for which we really need help currently are:

    - Building a new stable for our goats and chickens
    - Cutting back all the brambles along the border of the property and clearing parts of the land
    - Fencing the whole property
    - Collecting horse manure from the pastures to amend the gardens
    - Fencing our new garden
    - Gathering and making firewood
    - Digging a pond
    - Creating a space to store our harvests (in autumn)
    - Cleaning out our existing stables (which is a lot of work because we do "deep littering") and spreading that manure around our young trees in the foodforest

    There are many other small and spontaneous projects and things that need to be done throughout the year, depending on the season. Some examples are: Getting up hay and animal feed in large quantities, cutting back trees, taking care of the garden, weeding, harvesting food and preserving the harvests, etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Romanian: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We'd love to improve our Romanian but are interested in all languages and can teach you Swiss German or German and probably some English too, though we're not perfect at it ourselfs.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a cotton wall tent (2x3m) on a wooden platform (with a woodburning stove) to offer you as accomondation and there is the small old house (25 square meters), which will be used as our common space and kitchen once we ourselfs have moved from the house into our caravan.

    In case of families or long-term helpers wanting to stay with us, we are open to expand the accomondation with your help!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our property is only reachable with a 4x4 car (and only when the weather is dry), otherwise one can always walk up and down. We have a "street car" down in the village and an off-road car for here. But we really only drive when the ground is either dry or frozen solid. Otherwise we walk (the way to the village is through the hills and very picturesque).

    The next bigger towns are Deva (30km) and Hunedoara (25km) and Oraștie (20km), there are two tiny shops in the village that cover basic needs and are also small pubs. There's a smaller town where you can find everything you need, about 15km from us.

    There are ancient Dacian ruins to be discovered, lots of wildlife to enjoy in the area and vast and beautiful landscapes to be explored.

    For 2022, we have decided to only host people who want to stay at least a week, though we'd prefer two or more weeks because our past expiriences here have shown us that the first 3 to 5 days are usually more about getting to know eachother than about getting work done and while we're enjoying the exchange of thoughts and expiriences, we dearly need to get things going too.

    We are a very openminded family and like to look at life through a different lense by sharing stories and thoughts and the only thing we ask for in our helpers (and we have been super lucky with so far) is that you are openminded as well - oh and that you don't mind getting your hands (feet, arms, legs) dirty and doing physical work ;-) . We are not perfect and neither is our homestead - we are only just getting started afterall, but we love our life and are passionate about nature and exploring ways of life that lead into a more harmonious and holisticly sustainable (regenarative) future.

    ... And last but not least (before we can applaud you for reading all of this through) we want to add that we are happy to host solo travellers and couples/friends alike but since we have kids ourselfs, we want to especially invite families who want to expirience this completely different way of living with us!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have lots of pets ourself so if you bring your own, we will have to slowly and carefully introduce them to eachother and we would really apprechiate it, that none of our animals get eaten by yours (we have chickens, peacocks, rabbits and guineapigs running around freely at times) but other than that, nothing stands in the way of you bringing your furry or feathery friends.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week but we are not strict about this and think that we will find the best solutions together!

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 828228568681