Family homestead using permaculture principles in Kamloops, Canada

  • Kanada
  • Bisher 13 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 6 Apr. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    We are a family of four, our sons are 4.5 years old and 8months old. Our 5 acre property is 30km outside of Kamloops, BC, beyond the Lac de Bois Grasslands. We purchased our land in 2017 and built our off grid, passive solar cabin to move into during the summer of 2019. We finally installed electricity and running water in the house last fall. We use a composting outhouse. Someday we want to have a biodigester to provide our cook stove with methane.

    Our dream is to develop the land into a lush permaculture food forest. We are striving to live as sustainably as we can while staying completely debt free. Ideally this property will serve as a template to educate others about sustainable living practices. We are still in the early stages of development and will be working on doing some earth work crating more level areas, working on drainage and creating a better driveway up our very steep property. This spring we need to plant our small raised garden bed area. Fix our greenhouse plastic and plant it. Later in the summer we will be building a roof for a large woodshed we started. We also want to create a movable fencing area to house meat birds. I will be building an outdoor shower area with a privacy fence. And lots more little things going on all the time.
    We are excited to have help with our projects and are hoping to teach people the things we’ve learned about permaculture and off grid living.

    In 2016 we traveled through Central America doing workaway as a couple. It was an amazing experience that helped shape the people we are today. We have a deep respect for the program and are looking forward to now hosting,

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are living an alternative lifestyle. We use a composting outhouse and have experimented with using some of our finished compost.
    Come learn about growing food, making compost, and enjoying nature not compromised by cellular service or constant reliance on the internet. It’s a lovely meditative life.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Our property has a steep slope which you will need to climb at least once a day. The work is physically demanding. Here are some of the projects we will be working on as of this SPRING/SUMMER in no particular order:
    Building garden beds
    Building a greenhouse (maybe)
    Post and beam wood shed needs a roof
    Playing with our kiddos
    General chores (ie: feeding chickens)
    Making biochar
    Outdoor shower
    Gathering firewood and moving trees to use for building.

    -Building a larger hen house.
    -Butchering meat birds

    We feel we have enough variety of work available for many different skill levels. If you would be more interested in child minding and cooking while enjoying our home in the woods, that would be lovely. And if you are interested in gardening, we have lots of knowledge to share. And if you have building skills we would be grateful for your help and can share what we are learning as we go along with our development.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Travel trailer: 27 foot trailer, queen size bed, equipped kitchen, propane stove/fridge/hot water tank, dining table/small extra bed, 3 piece bathroom (chamber pot style), DC solar for lights, outdoor fire pit.

    If volunteers are travelling together, but aren't sharing a bed there is space to tent or there is an additional small trailer with a double size bed also. The large trailer kitchen can then be shared.

    We will provide lunch on the days we work. As well as one or two dinners per week.

    There is a kitchen in the trailer for volunteers to make their breakfast and dinners. We will provide beans, rice and oats as well as any food ready for harvest from the garden.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our area is secluded, there is no cell phone service, no stores and limited internet access. You will be required to use a composting out house.
    We can pick you up in Kamloops and take you for any supplies you may need before we leave town. There is endless wilderness territory to explore around us.
    -15km to Red Lake which is good for fishing.
    -waterfall to hike to
    - lots of hiking right from the property
    - river nearby that is refreshing in the summer
    - we will take you to town once a week to pick up groceries and get cell service. (Possibly more, but every week as a minimum)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3 Hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 826227546378

Weitere Bilder


Be a good friend to our energetic, outgoing sport-oriented 15 year old in Burlington, Canada
Come and help me build a geodesic dome deck, tend to the garden, and stay in my beautiful lakeside log home in Caycuse, Canada