Help with organising stuff in the beautiful Scottish countryside, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 254 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.01.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    499

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Would you find decluttering satisfying? Would you like to have access to lots of countryside for walking and cycling, but also be able to visit Edinburgh for culture, history and socialising?

    We used to live in the middle of nowhere in rural Galloway, and we've got lots of reviews from workawayers who stayed with us then. We've moved now to the Scottish Borders instead, so some of the stuff in the reviews doesn't apply any more. But we are still lovely:-)

    We live in a weird, higgledy-piggledy house, built in 1850, on a High Street of a small rural town. We have no garden. You can walk to a castle, or a river, in five minutes. Or be on a moortop in about 30 minutes.

    I work (part-time) from home, running a social enterprise that gets scientists working with non-scientists, to create more relevant and people-centred research. I'm an old hippy, but I'm also a trained scientist. My politics are leftie/green/feminist. Black lives matter. Fuck Brexit and the stupid, populist horse it rode in on.

    My eight year old son is home educated, on a pretty unschooling approach. At the moment he is really into drawing, Minecraft, ninjas, and sticks.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    For my job, I run online projects engaging the public with science. I'm always happy to chat about democratising science, public engagement, online communication and similar.

    I know quite a bit about permaculture and we used to live on a small smallholding.

    But in my experience of doing workaway for a couple of years, the real cultural exchange is just the chatting and comparing your experiences of life. What I loved about it, as a host, was that it was like travelling without going anywhere. And I think as workawayers, you get an insight into life in Britain that you couldn't by staying in hostels with other backpackers.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I really need to declutter massively, but I find it really off-putting. I just walk into the room and then walk out again. Or I start, but immediately I get distracted looking at old photographs or reading one of the books. And, of course, I get paralysed by climate guilt, and I can't throw anything away. I could really do with someone just hanging out with me while I go through stuff. Occasionally saying, "Don't get distracted!" Or, "Let's put this with the other craft supplies".

    If you have an organised sort of mind and are good at saying, "Why don't we put these things with these things", then that would be fantastic.

    I also want to paint a couple of rooms. If that's something you are any good at - or are willing to give a go.

    Or you could hang out with my son, play minecraft or lego with him, talk about ninjas, that kind of thing.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Türkisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I'm a qualified Tefl (teaching english as a foreign language) teacher (although I don't work as that). I'd be interested in improving my (very basic) Spanish or Turkish. Or my son practicing/developing his French.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two spare rooms available. One with one double bed. One with a triple bunk (double on the bottom, single on the top).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a small, rural market town, 45 minutes drive south of Edinburgh, on the A68. The town has a small supermarket, three pubs, a butchers, a fruit and veg shop, a zero waste shop and a post office.

    There's also a castle (Thirlestane Castle).

    If you like walking, we're on the Southern Upland way long distance path (341km) - which goes all the way across southern Scotland. Or a much shorter (45km) long distance path - the Herring Road - from here to the coast at Dunbar. There's also plenty of shorter walks round about.

    There are buses approximately hourly during the day, to and from Edinburgh.

    I'm told that there's lots of good cycling nearby, if you like cycling up hills...

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have worked from home for many years. I have an entire office in this house, but I never work in it and use the kitchen table instead:-). So you'd be welcome to use the office. I have printers and so on. We have pretty good broadband as we are five metres from the exchange. But it's not fibre broadband so not ultra fast or whatever.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week



















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 824993123172