Join us in a small village in the hills of Almora and help us with gardening in Uttarakhand, India



Bisher 92 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  • Beschreibung


    Hi, I am Keya. My husband Jagat and I are business consultants. A few years ago, we decided we wanted to move out of the city, so we found our little piece of paradise in the hills, a few miles from Almora, Uttrakhand, built a house and moved permanently two years ago.
    While Jagat still travels for work, I have stopped doing my consulting work, and have ambitions towards being a domestic goddess! Unfortunately, I have no experience in gardening or growing any food. I am kinesthetic learner, so reading stuff on the net doesn't really work for me. I am looking for a companion who would like to spend some time as part of our family, and can teach me about gardening and growing things while they're here.
    Both Jagat and I enjoy meeting new people and would love to host you :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a picturesque village in the hills. You'll have the opportunity to interact with the locals, meet new people and also travelers who visit this area from different parts of the globe. You'll also be living with us at home, so you can ask us tons of questions and maybe learn something different while teaching us something about your world. We've lived in different countries at various stages, and have friends in various continents, but it's always nice to meet someone new and different. You can also learn about the lifestyle and culture in this part of the world. The villagers are friendly and welcoming. I'll be happy to take you around and introduce you to people I know.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    When my husband and I moved from Delhi to a small village in the hills two years ago, we dreamed of having a beautiful garden and growing our own food ( at least some of it ). Unfortunately, I am not great at gardening, though I've managed to get a few things going. I am looking for someone who enjoys gardening and has a basic knowledge of how to grow vegetables, fruits and flowers. We would love someone who can offer ideas and guidance. We have paid staff for the heavy work, so we're not looking for cheap labor, more a friend and companion who can teach and help me get started. We've not used any chemical pesticides or fertilizers on our land, so it's an organic venture, and I'd like to keep it that way if possible. If you're creative and enjoy working around a garden or farm, you'll fit right in.
    We offer all meals as part of the exchange. We'd be happy to cook for you, in fact my husband loves to cook, but it would also be nice to learn new recipes from a guest, so that would be welcome without it being a core need. It would be nice if you can help around the house sometimes, or join us when we're doing some chores, that ways you can graduate from being a guest to being part of the family. You will not be expected to do the daily cleaning or cooking though.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Hindi: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We have two guests rooms with attached bathrooms. The bathrooms are European style with running hot and cold water. The bedrooms are furnished with a queen sized bed and basic furniture. You don't have to carry your own pillows, duvets, blankets, sheets or towels, unless you absolutely want to :). We have oil heaters in the bedrooms, and a wood burning stove for heating in the living room, for colder months. There is a small library on the first floor, and you're welcome to borrow books if you enjoy reading. We also have an attic sitting area which you can use.
    We have 7 dogs on the property, one of them lives in the house and sleeps in my bedroom, while the other 6 have their kennel outside. However, they run around freely on the property all day, so if you're not okay with dogs, this is not for you. They're super friendly though, and will mostly ignore you once they get acquainted, except when they demand cuddles!
    We have WiFi, though it can be a bit slow and erratic at times.

    All meals will be part of the exchange. We are happy to do the cooking, unless a workaway guest wants to cook, they don't have to. We cook vegetarian meals as well as chicken, meat and eggs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you enjoy walking or hiking, you'll love the place. The house borders a pinewood, and there our some nice trails that you can explore. Or you can join me for walks, I'd love the company.
    You can also visit some local temples and explore the area. It's pretty safe even for women on their own.
    There are a few cafes and interesting places, where you are likely to meet other travelers and make friends. Local shared transport is cheap and easily available during the day.
    You can also hire private cabs if you want.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 822863498967