Hilf mit auf einem Bio-Bauernhof in den westlichen Bergen von Südindien!

Country

Indien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 697 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    62  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.10.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    51

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a Indo-Japenese couple seeking to be closer to nature & enjoy the benefits of living in a wilderness environment.

    The farm is 130 km from the heritage town of Mysore known for many good yoga institutes.

    The off-grid organic farm is in the western hill ranges of South India near the town of Madikeri. It is located at the edge of a forest with natural springs and waterfalls and is very secluded. A large part of the property has become a private wilderness project hosting seasonal wildlife from elephant, boar, small animals like civet cats, rabbits and numerous birds.

    We grow coffee & pepper on the farm along with organic vegetables and appreciate anyone who is helpful in any way possible. To become self-sufficient with the food produced is our goal.

    Ours is a simple farmers life with enough time to appreciate what nature provides. We are comfortable with people of all ages & pets of any kind. Our family consists of two Indian Mudhol hounds Sufi & Koi with Kuro our guardian black cat. Sufi & Koi usually love all humans. Kurosan, being a cat has her own ways.

    A bit more about ourselves:
    Rajen has lived in India most of his life with a diverse career in corporate, social work and the UN, but always kept his connect with nature and farm. The current farm is due to a passion for wildlife so past 10 years has been spent converting it into a personal wilderness sanctuary. Rajen switched off from working for humans a few years ago and divides most of the time to the forest and farm.

    Moe:
    Currently working in the UN and hope to join Rajen permanently in a couple of years when I take early retirement. I was born in France and lived in other countries including Japan. I have been in India for a decade or so before being moving to Indonesia in 2019 January. At the moment, shuttling between the current posting in Jakarta and the farm as often as possible is the juggling act.!!

    Thank you for reading our profile so far :) before you make a commitment do consider a few things below that would make our interaction mutually comfortable & rewarding.

    Please do check for schedule of work listed in the profile, it may change depending on the work for the season. The farm work requires physical effort so please take this into consideration.

    Farm animals: Goats, chickens & ducks.

    Food:

    Our food is locally grown or from other local farms. We refrain from industrialised food chain so variety is limited to seasonal available produce only.
    We do not discriminate between vegetarian or meatarian volunteers and try our best to provide a balance. Volunteers are expected to accept the preferences of others and coexist in mutual respect and harmony.
    Food and accommodation is free: Breakfast, lunch & dinner are provided. Cuisine is mostly South Indian. Breakfast is millet porridge with available fruit. Black tea / black coffee is provided twice a day. Lunch and dinners are vegetables and lentils. Eggs/ Meat is usually once a week.

    If you have dietary allergies, please discuss it in advance. Food is generic and common to all so special cooking for individual preferences is not possible. Volunteers are expected to help in the kitchen and share in all kitchen chores in addition to the farm work.

    The farm is completely off grid and by intent completely isolated. Interaction with nearby farms and humans is kept to the bare minimum to keep human footprint as minimum as possible. The farm gets NO visitors.
    Access to the farm is only by pick up by 4x4 from Madikeri town. The farm is a strict no smoking zone.

    The forest is an integral part of the property and volunteers are expected to respect the right to life of all living things that coexist here. Because of the focus on encouraging wildlife to live in harmony, there is no loud noise or loud music.

    Phone/Internet: You are advised to get a local mobile sim at the airport itself. Jio & airtel are two telecom operators that have good access of data in all parts of the country. If required a hotspot can be provided each day for an hour.

    Medicines: In case you are on any specific medications we suggest you stock up for them but do not bring generic medicines as they are all available here.

    Vaccinations: Taking into account the Covid 19 pandemic please check with the government regulations on health requirements. we will keep you updated on any local regulations at time of travel.

    Working Clothes will be provided. House wear will can also be provided if required. Do check for local weather conditions during the duration of stay.

    Solo female traveller: Be assured that travelling in South India is quite safe. Bangalore and Coorg are truly safe for solo female travellers, BUT common sense and awareness is a must for all travellers, solo or otherwise.
    Language: English is widely understood in the south and you could get by without a problem.

    What to bring:
    A pair of house flip flops
    A happy attitude

    How to reach here:

    Direct buses are available from the Bangalore international airport and from other bus terminus in Bangalore city & suburb. you can check schedule on . In case you have problems accessing the site let us know the arrival time and we will suggest the appropriate bus to board. Tickets can be bought on the bus itself, it takes about 6 hrs to reach Madikeri town from Bangalore international airport.

    There are buses every hour from Mysore city or from Mangalore city; both take about 3 hrs to reach. There is also a direct daily bus from Goa to Madikeri.

    Thank you for the patience in reading this far, but hope it induces you to join us.

    Moe & Rajen

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    -Volunteers can participate in a farmer's way of life, learn & experience natural farming methods.
    -Get involved with the off-grid life and learn how we have managed for almost a decade being self reliant with power & water.
    - get involved with the wilderness project and discover if there is a forester inside you.
    - learn foraging and help in documenting the natural herbs project
    - Our place is an escape from the crowded towns of India, it is perfect for those who seek solitude & peace and a connect with nature.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    These are the things that we need help on.

    1. Clearing the forest paths & clearing bush from the stream.
    2. Fence repair .
    3. Dog care & grooming.
    4. Making Water channels.
    5. House maintenance.
    6. Landscaping & garden.
    7. Weeding & pruning (requires using weed cutters and chain saw)
    8. Coffee tree maintenance

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers will share our home & be part of the family. Accommodation are two guest rooms which have basic comforts. If there are more than two volunteers then it will be a dorm accommodation.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Volunteers can go onward to learn yoga at Mysore town which is 2 1/2 hours away. The Buddhist monasteries and golden temple of Bylakuppe where his Holiness, the Dalai Lama comes to teach is about 30 km from town. There are buses every hour, a shared day trip could be arranged for volunteers staying beyond 2 weeks. There is a direct bus to Gokarna & Goa.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 247352421128