Learn English, help with painting, gardening, household chores, and enjoy Ontario, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 27 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.10.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are both teachers. We have four children (boys) between us. Our youngest (22) has just moved back home and is working full time, while taking university courses. The rest live outside of our homes but not too far away.
    We, well me (Jamie) are getting ready for retirement and I especially would love to retire in Spain, Italy, Portugal or anywhere warm and near the sea! My dream has always been to have a B & B one day!
    We are both originally from the U.K but we’ve both lived in Canada for most of our lives, with some family still in the U.K.
    We live in a small house, close to Lake Ontario, and Nick (husband) sails, and we have a small sailboat that we bought last year docked in Hamilton, not too far away.
    I love cooking, reading, learning, and meeting new people, and would love to host a single person or a couple that would love to help us with small chores around the house such as gardening, and painting. We’ve been renovating our home for some time, and it’s finally getting to the end!
    It would be great to have a workaway/s that are from countries that we could eventually visit one day, and learn your language and culture.
    We are quiet, and non smoking, we enjoy music of all types, as well as films. We love learning about others, going out for meals, enjoying family and hosting dinners.
    For our workaway/s we have a bedroom and bathroom available, with meals joined with us, or use of our kitchen if wanted. We have a small older dog who loves people, and a beautiful cat.
    We live about an hour away by car or train to Toronto, and Niagara. We have family that live in Niagara-on-The-Lake and Kitchener so lots of areas to explore !
    We live close to the boat that is docked at the harbour about 15 minutes away, and Is a beautiful spot to sail, go for strolls or sit at the cafe. The shops, and shopping mall are all very close to us; within a 10 minute car ride, with buses and trains extremely close, and we’re happy to drive or drop off for outings.
    Our home is small, tidy and clean, and usually organized, we are non smokers and relatively quiet.
    We love music, and background music is always playing in our home daily. We are a structured couple especially during our work weeks. We both work full time and commute to Guelph daily, about an hour away.
    I owned and operated a private career college for post secondary students for hairstyling and aesthetics.for ten years before going back to high school teaching. Both of us were from a trade before going into teaching, and I, especially is looking forward to retiring soon, with Nick planning another ten years to retirement! Nick helps at our church (Catholic church in Oakville) with live streaming masses, and we attend church weekly ourselves.
    We love learning ourselves, Nick loves anything to do with space, rockets, planets, music or movies, while I enjoy more quiet time in our garden. Our boys are all busy working and going to university and are not far away from us, so we still see them regularly. We both enjoy British movies and television being from a British background we still find humour in these movies, but also love international shows too. We both enjoy learning about other cultures and traditions.
    We have a busy home, but love to keep busy, as well as enjoy our time off. We often go to Cuba for our vacations, and would love to plan a family vacation somewhere all together!
    Currently one son (33) needs constant help as he broke his arm with a very bad break, so I am constantly going to his condo to help him with daily chores! So, if our work away helper is available soon (August 2022) this would be a blessing to have help with👍🙏

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Your cultural exchange would benefit us, as we can learn about you and your culture while you practice and learn English if you need! You will enjoy exploring the area around us in Ontario, with local shops, the lake, parks and the botanical gardens right next door to us. We can help you learn English, while we try to learn your language, as well as help you explore our Canadian culture.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We’re looking for help painting walls, doors and trim in our house, and perhaps outside deck. Gardening such as lawn cutting, weeding and keeping tidy. General chores as you see fit or needed. We are home in the summer months, but work during the week during the fall, winter and spring. We’ve both had back issues and have found some of our last renovations quite tiring!
    Currently need help with our one son who lives alone close by as he broke his arm, which is not healing very well.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am interested in learning Spanish, or Italian and offer English language help, or teaching. Nick is great at teaching English as he is amazing with the written word and grammar!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own bedroom, (currently twin beds) and use of bathroom. Meals will be Provided and with us, if you are welcome to to cook and use the kitchen. Our house is air conditioned as our summers do get hot! Our home is clean and usually very tidy with minimal clutter. I enjoy cooking and always try to aim for healthy choices, we are not vegetarian, but do not mind if you are, and accommodations can be made for meals. We are not heavy drinkers, but I enjoy red wine with meals, whereas Nick does not drink wine, but enjoys the odd beer or gin and tonic! We both love chocolate, but are constantly trying to not snack after 8:00 pm!
    We have a beautiful garden, deck and gazebo, and hot tub.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    With your time off, there are lots of things to see and visit around the local area, such as the lake, parks, gardens, trails, shopping and malls. City bus is just a five minute walk, and train station is about 10 minute drive away. Toronto has the CN tower, lots of shops, museums, art gallery and places to eat and explore. Niagara-on-the-Lake or Niagara Falls are about an hour drive away.
    We have never hosted before, other than family, and are very open to meeting and hosting others. We are a Christian couple, but do not expect or care if you’re not! We do have two pets as mentioned so not suitable for people that have allergies to dogs or cats. We do not want anyone to smoke in our home, but outside is fine. We are a very clean home. We are quite structured people especially during our work week, getting up early and often going to bed fairly early. We host our family (four boys, and our parents quite regularly) to a meal every second or third weekend. We have a T.V in your room for your own use, as we usually only watch T.V before bed in our own room. In the summer we love to be outside, we have quite a large garden in the back, and a hot tub, which we rarely use, but you’re welcome to use.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have unlimited fast internet. We do not work from home currently, but we did during the pandemic .

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3-4 hours a day - 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 821479367648