Discover an Island Life on Bowen Island, Vancouver and help with outdoor tasks

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 47 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Two years ago -- after my own young-adult kids were gone-- I had a wonderful experience with a Workawayer starting a year of travel in Canada: she helped paint a wooden fence that keeps the deer out of our garden, and was a totally great person to share 10 days with on our small island, near Vancouver BC.

    Bowen island is a great place to experience west coast island life in a small community. Our place has 3-1/2 acres in a beautiful spot, not far from where the ferry comes in. Could be a nice way to enjoy some summer island living! The island is just a 20-minute ferry ride from Horseshoe Bay, where there's a bus to downtown Vancouver, so the city is easily reachable and many people commute every day.

    Right now I'm looking for some help doing some yard work outside: pulling up some invasive plants, some weeding... just four or five days, before the end of October.

    Three cats -- two Abyssinians, and one long-haired black cat -- will be around too.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our little island (Bowen Island) offers a wonderful taste of the west coast lifestyle in Canada, and it's also a unique community. We're a small and neighbourly population, about 4000. Though Vancouver is very close, life is very different here: people know each other and there are lots of events and activities on the island. Of course a big appeal is nature, with beautiful places to hike (-some trails starting just one minute from our door-) and to swim in summer.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Outdoors tasks: pulling up some invasive plants, weeding, a bit of digging to even out some ground.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French, some Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You'll have a nice bedroom in the suite, with french doors onto a patio. I'll be staying in a second bedroom though I might be off island from time to time.

    This would suit a single workawayer or a couple.

    Cooking is more or less vegetarian, mainly plant-based, though I do buy eggs (local), fish, and some dairy.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Bowen Island is a popular day-trip from Vancouver during summer so the vibe is great. Free fun includes hiking and swimming; local businesses also offer sea kayaking and stand-up paddleboarding. Some of the local restaurants have jazz or other live music on the weekend. We have farmer's markets, yoga and wellness, etc., and there's usually some event going on every weekend during the summer. Meanwhile Vancouver is so near that many people commute. It's just a 20-minute ferry ride to Horseshoe Bay, and from there buses go downtown.

    Our place is walking distance to the Cove where the ferry comes in and where there's a cluster of shops and restaurants.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    five hours a day would be great -- pretty flexible about time except for taking advantage of good weather. (max 25 hours)



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 818713759688