Come and join us at a Permaculture Project, Animal Sanctuary and Pure Plant kitchen! New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 755 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    203

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Kia Ora and Welcome!

    Please read through our description carefully before asking to volunteer with us :)

    WHAT ARE WE DOING?
    We are a Permaculture project and animal sanctuary. We've been running for two years, so we are still quite young, and learning a lot as we go. We are building towards creating a learning centre for Permaculture courses and Pure-plant eating workshops.

    We practise vegan eating, so we don’t allow any meat or animal food products onto the property- there is also no smoking, drugs or alcohol allowed. In this way we encourage an escape and detox from mainstream culture.

    Our goal is to be a site which demonstrates Permaculture land use, Pure-plant eating, and care for animals (without using them for food products).


    WHO IS INVOLVED?
    Maia (German) began this project and has seen it through to where it is now. Currently she works more behind the scenes- so you may or may not meet her- and she also focusses more on her other projects which include essential oil healing, workshops on plant-based diets, and Hounds4Life greyhound re-homing.

    I, Danny (South African), started working here as the homestead manager in August 2017. I've been practising Permaculture for 7 years in different parts of the world. I work alongside the volunteers when time allows it, although honestly, I'm often busy with management responsibilities and planning our intro courses. I'm always willing to share any of the Permaculture knowledge I've come across, and am always eager to hear new ideas and get input from volunteers passing through.I generally join volunteers for breakfast and lunch, but dinner is shared between volunteers alone. My partner Nina and my baby daughter Rokia may join in too from time to time.

    Permanent Volunteers
    Alex and Shannah both live on site. Alex manages the animal sanctuary, while Shannah manages the Hounds4Life programme alongside Maia.

    VOLUNTEERING

    We really enjoy volunteers who are keen to learn and practise Permaculture and/or related practises. If you are hoping to learn during your stay with us, I would recommend staying longer than a month, as Permaculture is a slow process, full of small slow solutions.

    Lead Volunteer: We try to always have one volunteer who stays for three months or more. This volunteer works closely with me, helps manage the project and coordinates the volunteers. We have had some great lead volunteers pass through and contribute greatly to the project, and honestly couldn't do it without them! Thank you Josh and Mira, Hadar, Sienna, Claire, Hunter, Anais, Thais, Idriss, Karin, Pauline, Will, Dana, Alice, Amy and Alex.

    Short-term Permaculture Volunteers: Of course we couldn't do it without you! We take four short-termers at a time. Our short-termers stay for a minimum of two weeks, BUT we REALLY prefer month-long stays, even for short-termers! We don't need to know too much about you before we book you a place, so don't write us your life story - we'd rather learn it when we meet you in person :)

    Animal Sanctuary Volunteer: Ideally this position is for a long-term volunteer (1 month minimum). This volunteers primary tasks will be orientated around caring for the animals and helping maintain and develop their homes. They will be guided mostly by Alex and Shannah with regards to their tasks, but also by Danny. Some of their work may not be with the animal sanctuary, but with the rest of the volunteers instead.


    HOW TO APPLY?
    If you're keen to join us as a short-termer, please help us spend less time on the computer and more time in the garden, by sticking to our enquiry format below (we ask all volunteers to arrive on a Monday morning and leave on a Friday or Saturday):

    Hello,

    I… (one sentence).
    I would like to arrive on Sunday the _______ and leave on Friday the __________

    (your preferred name/s)


    LEAD VOLUNTEER POSITIONS:

    We are always looking for volunteers who are willing to stay with us for three months or more. This volunteer becomes a collaborator in running the project during their stay. They will receive all training necessary to take on the role. They will help oversee most of the day-to-day tasks; such as coordinating the volunteers, caring for the food gardens and managing the kitchen. This is a great learning opportunity for someone who is hoping to have a project of their own one day - or someone who wants to practise their hand in the garden, the kitchen or the toolshed. Ideally the candidate has some experience or knowledge in Permaculture - having completed a PDC would be beneficial but not crucial. Any people skills, garden skills, carpentry/ DIY skills, or cooking skills would come in handy for this role too :) . On the other hand, if you have none of these skills - a positive attitude, an eagerness to learn and a willingness to do is really all you will need!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We ourselves are travelers and have moved to New Zealand from South Africa. We love to learn from different people and cultures, to exchange new ideas, and to work alongside people with different knowledge and skill-sets. We happily share and exchange the knowledge that we have about pure-plant food and about permaculture.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are only 2 years old and are in the transition phase to becoming a site guided by principles of Permaculture.
    As we are very young, we are not a living example yet but are working hard towards it.

    What kind of help do we require?

    Permaculture Volunteers:
    Cleaning, weeding, composting, cutting grass, planting and harvesting, digging, repairs and maintenance, fencing, sometimes new projects and basic wood-work.

    Animal Sanctuary Volunteer:
    Feeding and watering animals, walking and exercising the animals, general animal care/ medications etc., maintaining and shifting fences, some basic building/fixing and maintenance.

    On some days we may visit other projects and help out there. The work will be similar.

    If you are here during a Permaculture workshop, short-termers are welcome to either help coordinate and cook on the day and participate in between, or pay to join and be a full participant. Long-termers are invited to join the course for free as a participant.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Afrikaans, basic Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The short term volunteers have a sleep-out facing sunny North with 2 bunk beds that accommodates 4 people from Monday to Friday. A long-term volunteer has a separate single bedroom close by. You'll have shared use of the kitchen, bathroom, laundry, lounge and deck. Please note that we use compost toilets, and a sun-heated shower (only warm when the sun shines) - BUT will be building a fire-heated shower for winter.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are situated in a beautiful area with easy access to the Marlborough Sounds for outdoor activities, and 10 mins away from the ferry that crosses from Picton to Wellington.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Monday- Friday: 5 hours per day. Lead volunteer hours will vary.























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 811534652862