Help with rural projects in my house in Asturias, Spain

Country

Spanien

new host  

Bisher 18 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi! I am a queer scientist and I did recently moved to the countryside to have a simple and silent life surrounded by nature. I am rehabilitating a little farm placed in a beautiful valley in the north of Spain (Asturias) to serve as a little retreat space.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As the project is still in its beginnings more than farming knowledge (which I seek, indeed) I can offer calm, culture and sciencie (I am a retired scientist).

    In the area, the travelers could always enjoy the landscape and the Asturian ciders, gastronomy, and friendliness. Besides, the valley, placed in a former mining basin, has quite an interesting history because of its industrial past and its workers' strike bravery... Although now it is mainly rural, beautiful and calm.

    The travelers could benefit to live in a relaxing environment with the possibility to get to know the valley, its nature and and its people. I can offer a place where to relax and stay, Spanish conversation, and other interesting cultural exchanges on Science (mainly biology, genetics and philosophy of science), Feminism (including feminist biology and ecofeminism), and writing (English and Spanish).

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Needs and options (per task, combined or partially fulfilled... little by little)
    # CURRENT URGE # Cutting trees / Chopping wood / Picking Apples
    (A) Gardening: I need help to maintain the field cleared from brambles and to prune the apple trees soon.
    (B) Gardening/Farm/Building: The farm was abandoned for years and the terracing (where the apple trees are cultivated) is quite lost, I would love to build it back.
    (C) Building/Maintenance: There are two tiny houses that are currently full of junk that could be cleared and reformed so humans could comfortably live inside.
    (D) Farming: I would love to have an organinc garden (now I have the space but I didn't have time to start preparing it). I would also love to use organic methods to treat the possible pests in the fruit trees
    (E) Maintenance: The electric installation and the plumbing could be improved
    (F) General help in the restoration duties (moving furniture, objects, cleaning, varnish, etc)
    (G) Drawing / painting/ music / physiotherapy welcomed

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanish, English, French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The main house counts with three rooms, two of them can be offered: one, has a double bed and the other has two single beds; and both rooms count with a wardrobe and a window towards the south. We could share the rest: the living room, the kitchen, the bathroom, the porch, the yard... and the chickens and the cats. The house is quite humble, and I don´t have wifi yet, but I have an interesting library instead. It also counts, according to my first guest, with the most brilliant stars she had ever seen, and the most prolific slouchy apple trees according to me.

    Depending on the activity offered by the traveler we can share food and cooking times or I can offer mine. And in case the traveler has no car I will happily be on charge of bringing food to the house and of picking them up when possible (counting with their own car, bike or cycle would definitively be more comfortable for the travelers, but for short distances I can be of help, sure:) Besides, there is a bus that connects the area with Mieres, the closest urban area, which is very well connected and does even have a hospital.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Apart form conversation with the hosts, the house counts with an interesting library, instruments to be played, pencil colors and space. Also the cats enjoy playing with humans quite a lot, and the neighbors have some goats and donkeys that like humans too... For more humans, there are a couple of rural bars in a 15 min walk.

    The valley is full of little farms, small villages and walking routes in the nature, where wild animals can be found and heard. For longer plans, there are several cherished natural destinations of interest quite close, for example, the Cantabrian Coast at a 40-60 minutes car drive, or the Natural Park of Somiedo, the Natural Park of Redes and the National Park of Picos de Europa at one hour drive aprox.

    For a more urban style sejour there are routes towards civilization too: Mieres (15 min away) and the cities Oviedo and Gijón, which are at a 40-60 min drive.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 787346729291