1 / 5

Help me with my veg garden and restoring an abandoned barn near Villefranche de Rouergue in the Aveyron, France

  • Bisher 20 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 4 Apr. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi ! I'm Helen. I live in my little house, with a barn and half an acre of garden, since spring 2022. It was abandoned for 15 years so there’s plenty to get on with, making it into a beautiful place to play music, eat good food and chill out. It’s in a small hamlet in the countryside, 10km from Villefranche de Rouergue in the Aveyron. I’m a gardener, cook and musician, doing more or less of each of these things depending on the year and the twists and turns of life. At the moment I cook in a gite, either during the day or the evening, so I’ll work with you whenever I can, and leave you to get on with it at other times. There are 2 cats who love to come and hang out in the garden. The nearest neighbours are close enough to hear when we play music and they like it, and I love having other musicians around, hearing what other people play or playing together it’s all good. I’m up early and cracking on with whatever the day has in store so I like similarly-minded people, work hard, play, and chill out properly, if that sounds good to you I’d be happy to have you here !

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Music, definitely ! I play a lot of Irish, Klezmer, eastern European and French trad with my accordion, and sometimes the violin, though I started as a classical pianist (and then a teacher) and in recent years started learning to play the kora. There are some folk sessions in the region, music and dance, you’re welcome to come with me to these. Sometimes friends come over to play. You are very welcome to play/practice whatever your instrument, there is a guitar and a kora available to use, and I like a jam when I get the chance.
    If music is not your thing you are still very welcome of course! Gardening, cooking and languages are my other favourite topics to exchange with others, and they are all part of daily life here too.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help I will ask of you is mostly physical work which varies depending on the season, the weather, and any skills you might want to offer. It could include maintenance, clearing around parts of the garden, there are some fruit bushes and trees to look after/harvest from, working on the vegetable plots, preparing new areas for planting, I’m most interested in perennial food plants and herbs and working towards a forest garden, planting trees, weeding, firewood. Structural projects include digging out in the cave (cellar) to install a bathroom and stairs in the house, building a greenhouse, improving the rainwater capture, clearing out under the balcony.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is either in a campervan or a small tent, or you can bring your own van and park it here. During the colder months it’s possible to sleep in the house, for shorter stays. Mobile network coverage is good here. WiFi use is very very limited as it only comes from my phone. The hot shower and compost toilet are in part of the barn. The main part of the barn is the communal kitchen, you are free to use it as you like, and I’ll prepare food whenever I am able to do so. Some food, especially greens and salad, comes from the garden, and the rest is mostly local or organic or both. I’m not vegetarian but I hardly ever have meat here, (lots of eggs though !) and if you’re vegan you’ll be comfortable too. I also eat when I’m out at work so you’ll need to prepare food for yourself much of the time, and I’ll make sure your preferred foods are available.
    Keeping the communal spaces clean and tidying up after using the kitchen is an essential part of being here :) Make yourself at home.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a stream at the bottom of the hill to cool off in, footpaths and quiet roads to walk and there are 2 bicycles available to use. Villages 2km and 4km away. The nearest bus stop is a 30 minute walk uphill, to go to Villefranche de Rouergue or Rodez. If you have a car there are beautiful places to swim in the larger rivers, markets to explore in the towns and villages, concerts and cultural events, especially during summer. I will try to show you some of the area, but be aware that, as I go out to work as well as working at my place, and I also need quiet time to myself, you will have a lot of time on your own to explore.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 784137294644

Weitere Bilder

Feedback